We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find”
Review of Cambria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cambria House
Ranked #14 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Lovely small B&B run by the lovely Karen and David, made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Very comfortable, great breakfasts, good recommendations for tours. Highly recommended.Would certainly go back if we were in Nelson again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AnthonyPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

Cambrian House, run by Carol and David, is a small quality B&B that delivers a relaxing and restful stay close to the centre of Nelson.

Lovely rooms with all the facilities and warm, friendly service - nicely low key - from the owners. Beautifully prepared and served breakfast in a splendid dining room of a house that reflects the turn of the 19th century with lots of interesting pictures and artefacts.

Close to the centre and good restaurants (mostly at the Cathedral end of Trafalgar Street. You will not find bustling nightlife in Nelson, and it is all the better for that.

Visit the iSite for really great advice and also check out with Carol and David before any trips as they have excellent knowledge of the local area.

Loved our 2 night stay and thanks for both our hosts for making it so enjoyable.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We so enjoyed our 2-night stay at Cambria House in Nelson. The location was perfect for walking into town and taking the shopping, restaurants, gardens and even a hike to the center of New Zealand. The cottage setting was surrounded by flowers, so cozy and comfortable. Carol gave us special attention with delicious home-cooked breakfasts before we left early for our tour of Abel Tasman National Park.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a really lovely B and B. the room we had was lovely, with some nice personal touches. Great bathroom too. There was also a lovely yard to sit in which was great after a day of sight seeing. Owners were very welcoming and helpful too in guiding us to things to do in Nelson. Brill breakfast. Highly recommend a visit

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We had the good fortune to spend 3 nights in this beautiful old home that has approx 6 rooms with private baths. The owner is a wonderful and charming woman who goes out of her way to provide great service and comfort. The home is situated an easy walk from the Travalgar St shopping and dining district. Breakfasts were custom designed to our tastes, room and bed were comfortable, and the room size and bathroom were more than adequate. We felt at home in this wonderful facility!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Great property and lovely hosts.

Rooms were immaculate and had everything we needed.

The property in right in town and the hosts are there and willing to help with anything.

Breakfast was substantial and a great start to the day.

Would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GM007_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We only stayed one night in Nelson during our tour of New Zealand and were very satisfied with Cambria House. It is a beautifully furnished house with a sitting room and outside deck area available to guests and off-road parking We had a comfortable bedroom with a modern en-suite shower.
The owner (Carol) made us very welcome and gave us advice about the area and where to eat. Complimentary tea and coffee was available in the sitting room, along with a glass of sherry. There were also tea and coffee making facilities in our bedroom and complimentary chocolates.
The highlight of our stay was the breakfast with a choice of cereals and several cooked options. I had the Marlborough smoked salmon and scrambled egg while my husband had a full cooked breakfast. Followed by toast and marmalade, it was just what we needed to set us up for another day on the road.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwyndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.3 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
492 reviews
0.9 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria House

Address: 7 Cambria Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: £144 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambria House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Cambria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing