We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you want to sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradiso Backpackers
Ranked #11 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Cramped, noisy and uncomfortable. Rooms were tiny. Bed was shocking. Fellow backpackers were most inconsiderate and doors were slammed noisily all night - had a lot of trouble sleeping. Go elsewhere, unless you want a shallow party experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildWoila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Paradiso Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

Being a veteran attendee at the excellent MarchFest, which is staged just down the road in Founders Park, I have arranged a group booking at nearby Paradiso on three separate occasions, as there's a good range of accommodation types. Have stayed in dorms, a private room in the main building and a motel unit. Each time the staff have been very friendly and helpful, but the place has always been packed (it's on the major coach tours stop-off route). This creates a party atmosphere, but leads to inevitable problems with overcrowding etc. in both kitchen and bathrooms. The outside space is great with the pool and old bus down the bottom of the garden, but if you want a quiet stay make sure you a book a motel unit.

Room Tip: Plenty of choice but pays to book well in advance to secure preferred option.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My wife and I got here quiet late and the place was swarming with all nationalitys! The kitchen was full of people tripping over each other around others trying to use the place as a party lounge and drink on into the night, after talking to the receptionist we discovered that there is a small motel complex joined onto the place around the back and not at all that expensive, it was a lot quieter and we had some privacy too. After settling in my boss ( the missus) sent me of to do a load of washing and what a bloody mess! There were cloths hanging out of machines and all over the ground and half hanging of the lines!! Finally got that sorted and then went to the not so noisey part of the complex for a couple of quieter drinks.

Room Tip: If you are a couple and have been travelling a while and want a quiet night and have a couple of ext...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max274967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Photos looked great with pool etc but very deceiving pool and spa was in backpackers area. Had to go to backpackers to book in as nobody in office and phone did not work. Code for access to get to kitchen for free breakfast did not work so missed out. Kitchen was definitely not suitable for breakfast (more for backpackers and not the mature traveller). Room not overally clean and ended up with bites. Could not sleep as very noisy with talking and coughing outisde till all hours of the morning. Tried after hours number for porter and no reply. Steps were very slippery when wet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolejp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Had such a great time here, would defo reccommend to anybody travelling to Nelson to stay here. the swimming pool was soooo refreshing on such a hot day. They also have a spa pool but we didn't use that because we were in the swimming pool all the time. we meet some really friendly people here who we will definately keep in touch with.

Room Tip: the 10 bed dorm is cheap but really nice and has loads of space.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here in hope of a friendly Christmas holiday hostel, but it was far from it.
The hostel has fairly good facilities, although there isnt enough showers or toilets for everyone, but the thing that really lets it down is the atmosphere. There are some Woofers and long termers staying here who aren't good at including new guests and dominate the atmosphere with their own inside antics.
The management look as though they try hard with this place, but the welcome and warm atmosphere wasnt there. It's very unclean here also.
It's good having vegetable soup in the evening, but once again, the long termers dominate the dining room and make it into a non-communal experience. It's a shame because with the pool and spa and stuff it should have great potential, but it lacks it.
Free breakfast was shrouded by the fact that the kitchen/dining room was disgusting and covered in beer and food from night before.
We ended up leaving halfway through our planned time here because it wasn't such a nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Anywhere you sleep will be noisy and you will not get much sleep
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liamandjanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

My wife and i stayed here as a home base for our able tasman tour and we enjoyed this little place. Very friendly and located about a 10 in walk to the city center. This hostle has a very nice swimming pools, hot tube and suanna. We had a single room right above the pool and it was nice, clean, and not loud. Backpapers usually stay here for a while but we were just in and out. It was perfect for us and would recommend this place. The people here were very nice and loved to make conversation. After all what are hostles for!!!! They do have Wifi but you have to pay for it! the first 1 is free. There are many tour companies that stop at this hostle so this makes it nice to book tours while in Nelson. We highly recomened Able Tasman.!!!!Enjoy your stay here and make lots of frinds!! WE DID!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doubleR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 42 in Nelson
243 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bug Backpackers
The Bug Backpackers
#5 of 42 in Nelson
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
YHA Nelson by Accents
YHA Nelson by Accents
#20 of 42 in Nelson
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
0.4 mi away
Kings Gate Motel
Kings Gate Motel
#22 of 41 in Nelson
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradiso Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradiso Backpackers

Address: 42 Weka Street | PO Box 7, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: £13 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Paradiso Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradiso Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Backpackers Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing