We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradiso Backpackers
Ranked #11 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

this has to be the best hostel of my trip so far. it is defo a busy hostel but I think that adds to the atmosphere. I stayed here for 4 nights and met some lovely people. Also great to have free breakfast and free wifi. NOt many places do free unlimited wifi so was defo a treat.

Room Tip: the ensuite room are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Upon first appearance, this hostel appears to be very high quality: a twelve metre pool, a spa pool and unlimited free WiFi.

Whilst the free breakfast (toast, cereal, jams, milk etc) and free soup with bread appears to be their selling point, I really would not bother trying. The breakfast is average but you have to be there 15 minutes early to get any soup. It isn't monitored so people get saucepans full each and others forget the soup and just take a plate full of bread. The pan is just left there afterwards, taking up the apace of two hobs and leaving the kitchen messy.

The kitchen and bathrooms were unclean most of the time, the rooms are tiny and the WiFi lasts for 6 hours at a time. The pool is ok but the spa pool is hogged all night by one group. This hostel is basically filled with teenagers who want free food so they can spend all of their money on beer. The atmosphere is so uncomfortable and I felt completely horrible the entire time we were there. Unfortunately, this was our fourth choice hostel because the other good hostels were full! I have no idea how this hostel got an 83℅ rating in BBH.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britsticker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This place could be amazing!
It's all there - a great building and outdoor area; super-friendly staff; quirky, but spacious and well-though-out dorm-room layouts; fair prices and lots of goodies (free breakfast, free noodle-soups, free Wifi, shuttles into town, etc.).

Unfortunately, I guess I am just too old to enjoy spring break atmosphere amongst mostly German 18-year-old partyfolk. I honestly heard very little English during my three nights here and our room seemed to be the central hangout for a big group of young German backpackers. Not the hostel's fault, but I guess this place just fell short for me.
The cleanliness was all right for such a fairly big and crowded place, but personally, I felt like spanking half of the people staying at Paradiso for not cleaning up after themselves. The cleaners seem to be volunteers working in exchange for accomodation and, depending on their hangover from the day before, put more or less work into their tasks at hand.
The common areas are spacious enough on sunny days, but can feel stuffed on rainy days during the main season. In any case, there is very little chance of finding a quiet spot for reading a book; just too many people around for that. On the upside, heaps of entertainment with a pool, foosball, tvs, free wifi and even a beach volleyball court.

Make sure you read the reviews, because for younger backpackers (many of whom don't seem to have an interest in speaking the country's language?!) I'm sure this is a great spot.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Couldn't fault this hostel, had two nights here, awesome pool, great atmosphere, we were worried that it might be a bit of a party hostel as there was a big group of south americans in who started drinking early, but the staff really enforced the no drinking late at night rule and ensured everything was quiet, so we got a great nights sleep and up early for the free breakfast and an amazing kayaking trip at cable bay (do it!!), then back by the pool for a couple of beers and another early night with tired arms, clean and well run despite the size (which is rare)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr_leicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

An amazing hostel. We really enjoyed our stay here. There was such an amazing holiday vibe about the place. The outdoor areas are great with loads to do from sunbathing by the pool to playing ping pong or volleyball. It was really hot weather as well when we stayed so that helped! Everyone wants to have a good tme which is how it should be when your on your hols. i am planning to return to this place at the end of my trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights sat/sun. On arrival we were given a double room which hadn't been cleaned and there were used condoms in the bin!!! Not impressed, to give reception credit they changed us to the room nextdoor straight away which had been cleaned and I would describe as 'adequate'.
Bathrooms were dirty most of the time, and evidently the hostel was "cleaned" by live in residents which may explain the standard of cleaning.
It's supposed to be quiet after 10pm - we were kept up til 2am on the sat night, but Sunday was quieter. Many of the residents had obviously been at the hostel for a while and loved it. But if you are in your late 20's/early 30's like we are you might just find it a bit too grubby. You were never too far away from a guy with a guitar.. Think we were just too old for this place!
Free brekkie was good, once you could find clean crockery.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannahCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hostel during a trip to the Abel Tasman national park. The hostel is very nice and original: there are some lofts, a tv room, a kitchen and a big garden. There are also a swimming pool, a sauna, a hot tub, a pool table and many other things. The staff members are nice and always ready to help you. The room and the toilets were clean and they provided free wifi. It is not far from the centre, and if you have the car you can park it there. The only negative aspect is that at some hours there is no room in the kitchen. But I absolutely recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viaher-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
492 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 42 in Nelson
245 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bug Backpackers
The Bug Backpackers
#5 of 42 in Nelson
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kings Gate Motel
Kings Gate Motel
#21 of 41 in Nelson
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradiso Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradiso Backpackers

Address: 42 Weka Street | PO Box 7, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: £12 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Paradiso Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradiso Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Backpackers Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing