We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel of choice when in nelson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tuscany Gardens Motor Lodge
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Motel of choice when in nelson”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stay here as my accommodation when working in nelson all the time. Great rates, friendly start, accommodating with rooms and rates. (have me a single room at studio rate). Good location, central, some traffic noise however but no more than other motels near by.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MysteryMan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    7
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
13
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This is another in a series of reviews experienced on a recent trip to the
South Island of New Zealand. I arrived in New Zealand with no predetermined schedule and no hotel reservations. As I was entering the Nelson area, it was getting late in the day and deciding to take no chances happend upon the Best Western Tuscany Garden Motor Lodge.

The manager was very nice and negotiated a price on the room that may have been a little high given the location and quality of the property. First off, the room was actually a small suite with living/kitchen area, separate bedroom with queen bed and a good size bathroom with walk-in shower and spa-type shower heads at different heights in the shower.

While the room was clean, the very first impression I had on walking in was a smell, faintly of onion-garlic variety combined with smoky overtones. This persisted throughout my stay in the room. It was a second floor room with no elevator access. It was furnished with fridge, microwave and a small counter cooktop. Also, as noted in previous Tripadvisor review, traffic sounds were prevalent during all hours, although probably less due to the room being at the back of the hotel- in general, my sleep was not too disturbed by the noise.

Overall averageto low average experience, except for the unpleasant smell of the room.

Room Tip: Take an extended sniff on experiencing the room for the first time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzed12007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Unexpected visit, this motel is right on the SH which is always busy. We got a studio room, which had good amenities for a studio, but the motel didn't seem to offer much else, except for very limited Sky TV channels. The traffic noise was pretty bad for NZ, closing the window didn't seem to matter much.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nelson hotels

London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

We loved Tuscany Gardens motel having stayed in several motels throughout our time in NZ. It was well decorated, clean and even included a little balcony. The staff were helpful enough and we made good use of the laundry services. The only downside was that when we compared it to the other studios we stayed in, this one was a bit on the small side as we kept bumping into our luggage in the snug area around the bed. Despite this though, it was in an excellent location and was very comfortable despite facing the road.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stroalki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We stayed her for three three nights and had a real nice time. Our room was upstairs at the back and where not subject to the road noise mentioned in other reviews.

The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Great bed. The IS a laundry and very resonable it was too. We enjoyed the local eateries but thought 623 On the Rocks was overrated.

We also eat in the Indian Cafe in central Nelson for lunch and were very impressed with the curry selection.

Overall a good solid choice in Nelson by the beach.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan&Sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2007

The level of attention by the hosts, the cleanliness and the standard of decor was the best of our whole trip. The rooms are not huge but so well appointed. Restaurants and the beach are all just 5 minute walk away. An ideal base and so well priced. We loved it.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and wonderful hosts
  • Disliked — Some road noise
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gemdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2007

We spent four nights here and wished we had gone elsewhere. Our unit was very well furnished and maintained, but impractical. Lighting was poor, cooking facilities very limited and the lack of a mat inside made it impossible to avoid tracking wet in when raining. Bedroom was small and gloomy with a walkway past the window. Located on a main road there was a lot of traffic noise, especially early in the morning. Parking was tight and without allocated bays. The units are on two floors, we were upstairs, those downstairs looked really dark and enclosed. No laundry facilities. Owners were not friendly and seemed to resent visitors messing up their beautiful place. In five weeks in New Zealand this was the only place we found unwelcoming and the only place we would avoid in future.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wasleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#13 of 41 in Nelson
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Motel
Balmoral Motel
#31 of 41 in Nelson
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castles Motel
Castles Motel
#25 of 41 in Nelson
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#22 of 41 in Nelson
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuscany Gardens Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscany Gardens Motor Lodge

Property: Tuscany Gardens Motor Lodge
Address: 80 Tahunanui Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand (Formerly Best Western Tuscany Gardens)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tuscany Gardens Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tuscany Gardens Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing