We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Tauranga, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 6 December 2007

Hotel has been recently refurbished and was in pretty good condition. We stayed on the 6th floor and overlooked Nelson Cathedral.

The room was large with a large double bed and one large single. Also had a nice bathroom, although water pressure could have been better in the shower. Tea, Coffee and mini bar provided.

We did not eat in the hotel as were recommened other places to eat, although I heard the hotels Japanese resteraunt is meant to be one of the best in NZ.

If we were to go back to Nelson we would stay here again.

A nice spot to eat is at the Anchor, on the wharf. Hidden away but its where the locals eat.. Very nice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Water pressure in the shower too low!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biglobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    175
    63
    24
    5
See reviews for
33
169
16
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
326 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2007

We spent 2 days here while in Nelson. Lucky for us we were upgraded to an Executive room which was recently updated. The room was quite nice and comfortable. The hotel is in the center and you can walk to everything. Parking is free. Because it was spring the pool was closed. There is an exercise room. Nothing special but a comfortable place if you get a good internet rate like we did.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank drjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2007

Stayed in one of the "executive" rooms before catching an early plane to go on holiday. The room had been recently upgraded. A very annoying, hum came through the ventilation system all night, this made sleep difficult, which was probably as well as the 5am wake up call never came until 5.35am. I had ordered a taxis for 5.45am through the front desk at the same time and apparently the girl on the desk had put both the wake up call and the taxis down for the same time, not too bright!!

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gordonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2007

We stayed at the Rutherford for 2 nights - before & after our kayak trip to Wilson's Abel Tasman (which, by the way, was incredible). We upgraded to the updated rooms, which are nice but I was truly disgusted when I went to use the bathroom & found the toilet had not been cleaned or flushed!! I immediately called the front desk & they switched our room but it left me doubting how clean the rooms really are...
Good, central location but there are also tons of hotels & cute B&Bs in Nelson so maybe do more research as there's likely something better. Also, we were awoken many times by cars & noisy skateboarders just outside the hotel.

  • Liked — Central location, fairly updated rooms
  • Disliked — Filthy bathroom/toilet, noise
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2007

We stayed here for 2 x nights between Christmas and New Year paying $274NZD.
The hotel is centrally located to town but the rooms are very dated and in need of a revamp. The outdoor pool was very basic but given that it rained for most of the 2 days we were there we did not get a chance to use it.
Nelson was a larger town then we expected. Unfortunately we did not have a car while there and we were unable to rent one at such short notice so we missed out on the Abel as we were limited for time.
We did manage to get a coach direct from Nelson to the ferry with great ease and found the locals to be very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocalllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2007

I stayed at the Rutherford for three nights, in a standard room. The
room was large and clean, with a very comfortable bed, but the fixtures were dated. Everything worked fine, it just looked a bit tired. The lobby area was immaculate, and features a display room of Hoagland glass art. The location couldn't be better; the place is right next to the cathedral, and with easy walking distance of central Nelson with all its shops, galleries, and dining establishments. Since I didn't have a car, this was a crucial feature. I'd definitely stay here again (although I'd probably spend a bit more and upgrade to a superior room).

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Dated fixtures in the standard rooms
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aredhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2007

Very good location, good restaurant, but small and ordinary rooms. It was OK for once but I wouldn't go back and stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jupjup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutherford Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutherford Hotel Nelson

Property: Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Address: 27 Nile Street West | P O Box 248, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rutherford Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson is an extraordinary NZ destination befitting a hotel of such a high standard. The Rutherford Hotel Nelson offers luxurious hotel accommodation with a full complement of features designed to help you achieve the most from your stay. The hotel offers a range of superior guest facilities including two restaurants, a cafe and is only a couple of minutes walk from Nelson's main shopping district and landmark cathedral. Dining, relaxing, or getting away from it all, this is one of the few hotels that puts you right at the doorstep of three national parks and an unmatched range of sandy beaches, blue seas and mountain wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rutherford Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Rutherford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing