We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay basic hotel but gouges guests for internet and using a credit card”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The Rutherford is located in central Nelson and has parking on-site, which is convenient. The rooms are spacious but very basic business hotel set-up. We found the bed a little "spongy' which made it uncomfortable for our liking. We did not have meals there but found some great places for dinner and for morning coffee close by. Our issue was the excessive charges and small data limits for using the internet. Given there is free telecom internet in town just minutes away, placing heavy charges on using the internet in the hotel, and applying a data limit even if you do pay the fee for a day is outrageous. We bit the bullet and paid the fee as we had work to do - then had the hotel charge us an additional fee on check-out for using a credit card to settle the account! How else do people pay for hotel bills?? We have never arrived at a hotel with a wad of cash to settle the account and never before had a hotel add a charge for using a credit card on check-out. I hope the management of this hotel wake up and realize they are going to lose customers if they do this.

In summary - nothing special about the hotel and a poor impression on leaving.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anwil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley H, General Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Anwil51,

In response to your review from your recent stay at Rutherford Hotel Nelson - A Heritage Hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your comments as it allows us to explore areas that need to be improved.

You mentioned that you encountered problems with our internet usage place and low data limits. We are planning on bringing out wireless internet for guest use in all areas of the hotel with a high MB limit and a competitive pricing plan to go with it; this will be in effect by the end of the year.

Thank you also for your comments regarding the credit card surcharge. I do agree that most people who travel use a credit card to settle their accounts, and the respective fees are currently being reviewed.

We thank you for taking the time to provide these constructive comments and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

If you would like to discuss this matter further you are welcome to contact me directly.

Regards,

Bevan McGillicuddy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

I had stayed at this hotel many years ago and my recollections were good. Unfortunately I was disappointed this trip.

The best thing about the Rutherford is the location, right in the city close to everything and Nelson is a wonderful place to visit.

The hotel 10-20 years ago would have been great but not today, it is tired and well in need of a major refurbishment. Rooms are small, showers terrible and the beds average at best. I suffer on occasions from bed/dust mites and I was itchy all night which happens to me in an old hotel when the blankets and drapes are old and cleaned as regularly as they should be.

We ate at the restaurant one evening and the food was terrible. We were in a group and everyone was of the same view with few people finishing their plates. We weren't game to try the breakfast and found some great cafes close by.

The staff were good, nice and friendly.

Sorry but couldn't go back. I'll stick with the new motels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grant196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here for one night in a executive room with a king size bed which was very comfortable. Staff were very helpful and accomodating. The room was very average, looking a little dated but very comfortable. Do not book a room facing Selwyn Place as you will be listening to drunken people waiting for taxis till 4.30am if on the weekend!

Room Tip: Not facing Selwyn Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoxyLoxy025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I have stayed at the Rutherford a number of times for business and whilst it is a nice hotel, it is nothing out of the ordinary. Compared to other Heritage Hotels I have stayed at (Queenstown, Christchurch and Hanmer), it is well below their standards.

Location is very central to the Nelson CBD and rooms are of a good standard. Staff are friendly without being exceptional.

The gym is rudimentary with only limited equipment.

The hotel has two main restaurant choices and both are okay but the Miyazu Japanese option would be the best for my choice. I found breakfast to be very average and not worth the buffet price. I have now taken to walking to a local cafe for a better breakfast for much less.

Overall this is an okay hotel to stay at but nothing to rave about.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Howlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a work conference 4 nights,location to town & restaurants is great,but rooms looking very tired,hand basin cracked,shower had no pressure at all had to take off hose & wash with it in my hand,bed soft & saggy in the middle,air con so noisy ended up turning it off,then the room was so hot! If you don't mind staying in a hot box close to town,then stay here

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaffajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Well-located hotel close to the shopping areas and market in Nelson, and with a range of restaurants within easy walking distance. The staff were friendly and welcoming, moving our rooms without complaint to meet our preferences even though there was no problem with the original rooms. We stayed over the Easter weekend, and found that a small bag of Easter eggs had been left in each guest room, which we felt was a nice gesture. The rooms are fairly standard, but are comfortable and clean, and we would stay here again if in Nelson.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Excellent location for downtown activities. Few steps and in the town centre. Good car parking. Helpful reception staff. Wifi speed in rooms not great. Note lots of guests around lobby using that connection. Rooms well presented, clean, tidy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElvisInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.5 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#8 of 41 in Nelson
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutherford Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutherford Hotel Nelson

Address: 27 Nile Street West | P O Box 248, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £107 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rutherford Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson is an extraordinary NZ destination befitting a hotel of such a high standard. The Rutherford Hotel Nelson offers luxurious hotel accommodation with a full complement of features designed to help you achieve the most from your stay. The hotel offers a range of superior guest facilities including two restaurants, a cafe and is only a couple of minutes walk from Nelson's main shopping district and landmark cathedral. Dining, relaxing, or getting away from it all, this is one of the few hotels that puts you right at the doorstep of three national parks and an unmatched range of sandy beaches, blue seas and mountain wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rutherford Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Rutherford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing