We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs an update and rubbish internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Needs an update and rubbish internet”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is an average hotel that needs an urgent update. The wifi is an embarrassment for a country like New Zealand. The hotel is well positioned and has a great Sushi restaurant but it needs to up its game if it wants to survive

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnCDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    175
    63
    23
    5
See reviews for
33
169
15
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I had a meeting in the city so I treated myself to a night at the Rutherford. I was impressed from the first minute: valet parking (for my scruffy little car), friendly staff (despite my scruffy T-shirt), really comfortable bed, great manuka spa bathroom products, peaceful, quiet, superbly clean, stunning view of the catherdral. The price was well under $200 for me for one night...and I liked it better than "posh" hotels in big cities for $240+ a night. I would go back anytime. I hear there is a pool! And I didn't even get to any of their restaurants.

Room Tip: View varies for which side of the building you are on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richards1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Location ideal, room great, breakfast plentiful and good quality - everything you should expect for a hotel of this standing.

And then there is the WiFi ... The hotel provides 20 mins or 20mb usage in the lobby - otherwise you have to pay. I managed to get less than 5 mins access as my tablet sucked the 20mb up almost immediately. The WiFi is provided by a third party so the hotel staff have no interest whatsoever in the service.

The issue comes down to customer service and hotel amenities and unfortunately the hotel falls short. Having traveled for 30+hrs to reach NZ I simply wanted to have a nice bed (check), a good location (check) and to catch up on emails (fail)

So, would I recommend the hotel? Probably not. Nelson is a really nice location and you would probably do better to find somewhere that ticks key boxes

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank scubafanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel is only a short stroll into the centre of town. We were greeting by a pleasant girl on reception who offered us help with our luggage. Our room was really spacious with plenty space for luggage. The view from the room was awesome. The room service was exceptional and the toiletries provided were an added bonus. The room and bathroom was spotless clean. The only thing I could fault was the bed - it is way too soft, so much so you don't get a good night sleep. Unfortunately because of this I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a firm bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This calls itself an international hotel yet has no in room wifi. One can access 30 minutes pitifully slow wifi in the lobby and Chen there is a charged.

It is disgraceful that a major hotel does not have room wifi.

However the speed of the wifi in the lobby did match the speed of room service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beetee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Our conference was held at the Rutherford - all in all a very enjoyable week, friendly and helpful staff, although I got the feeling the hotel had seen better days. Conference facilities were good, but rooms were over airconditioned (why?? it wasn't that warm outside, even being mid summer). My room was nice, clearly it had been recently renovated. Hotel is in a quiet area too, but right next to the main streets and eating areas of Nelson. I felt the hotel food was a bit expensive for what it was, and the selection of wines was disappointing, especially as this is the Marlborough region. You'd think the hotel would be showcasing the best of the Sauvignon Blancs, but no, the selection really was an embarrassing advert for the region. I was a bit taken aback by the "you must check out at 10am as we are fully booked and cannot extend your checkout" letter I received the night before I was due to check out - why so stern?! Would I come back to this hotel - yes, of course.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfsinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Everything was on the up & up - clean room lots of amenities. Hotel is well located across a lovely park. I would suggest that the management spend a little extra cash on new beds. The beds are too soft as mentioned by many members of our tour group. If this is not an issue with you, you will enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank souriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutherford Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutherford Hotel Nelson

Property: Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Address: 27 Nile Street West | P O Box 248, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rutherford Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson is an extraordinary NZ destination befitting a hotel of such a high standard. The Rutherford Hotel Nelson offers luxurious hotel accommodation with a full complement of features designed to help you achieve the most from your stay. The hotel offers a range of superior guest facilities including two restaurants, a cafe and is only a couple of minutes walk from Nelson's main shopping district and landmark cathedral. Dining, relaxing, or getting away from it all, this is one of the few hotels that puts you right at the doorstep of three national parks and an unmatched range of sandy beaches, blue seas and mountain wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rutherford Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Rutherford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing