We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned hospitality - what a treat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rutherford Hotel Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old fashioned hospitality - what a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

A rare find indeed, the hotel may be in need of an upgrade however, this is a small point and far out weighed by the warm welcome, friendly and professional staff and the quality of the rooms. A great location at the Cathedral end of the city, walking distance to bars and restaurants. We had 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Food and Beverage offering was well above par for a Hotel.

Room Tip: Better view from rooms on Trafalgar Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraye B, Guest Relations Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your comments about the hotel, our staff and our food & beverage offerings.
It is a pleasure to receive comments such as yours, and we look forward to welcoming you back at Rutherford Hotel Nelson - A Heritage Hotel
Yours sincerely
on behalf of
Bevan McGillicuddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    172
    62
    23
    5
See reviews for
33
161
15
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

always a pleasure to stay here. staff are great and the rooms nicely refurbished. the meals are of a high standard and the fish is always a must have. The location means its close to everything you need as well.

Room Tip: Higher up is always good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bustedblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraye B, Guest Relations Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your complimentary remarks regarding our hotel and the quality of food,
In the hospitality industry feedback and comments tend to be more on the critical side than complimentary and it is always a pleasure to receive comments such as yours.
Thank you for taking the time to put your thoughts in writing and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Rutherford Hotel Nelson – A Heritage Hotel.
Yours sincerely
on behalf of
Bevan McGillicuddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights recently and had no issues with this hotel. Didn't use any of the facilities as such so can only comment on what we used/saw. Hotel was clean, reception staff friendly etc. Would stay again when we return

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank G00nerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraye B, Guest Relations Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your taking the time to comment on the hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Rutherford Hotel Nelson - A Heritage Hotel
Yours sincerely
on behalf of
Bevan McGillicuddy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is an average hotel that needs an urgent update. The wifi is an embarrassment for a country like New Zealand. The hotel is well positioned and has a great Sushi restaurant but it needs to up its game if it wants to survive

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnCDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I had a meeting in the city so I treated myself to a night at the Rutherford. I was impressed from the first minute: valet parking (for my scruffy little car), friendly staff (despite my scruffy T-shirt), really comfortable bed, great manuka spa bathroom products, peaceful, quiet, superbly clean, stunning view of the catherdral. The price was well under $200 for me for one night...and I liked it better than "posh" hotels in big cities for $240+ a night. I would go back anytime. I hear there is a pool! And I didn't even get to any of their restaurants.

Room Tip: View varies for which side of the building you are on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richards1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Location ideal, room great, breakfast plentiful and good quality - everything you should expect for a hotel of this standing.

And then there is the WiFi ... The hotel provides 20 mins or 20mb usage in the lobby - otherwise you have to pay. I managed to get less than 5 mins access as my tablet sucked the 20mb up almost immediately. The WiFi is provided by a third party so the hotel staff have no interest whatsoever in the service.

The issue comes down to customer service and hotel amenities and unfortunately the hotel falls short. Having traveled for 30+hrs to reach NZ I simply wanted to have a nice bed (check), a good location (check) and to catch up on emails (fail)

So, would I recommend the hotel? Probably not. Nelson is a really nice location and you would probably do better to find somewhere that ticks key boxes

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank scubafanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel is only a short stroll into the centre of town. We were greeting by a pleasant girl on reception who offered us help with our luggage. Our room was really spacious with plenty space for luggage. The view from the room was awesome. The room service was exceptional and the toiletries provided were an added bonus. The room and bathroom was spotless clean. The only thing I could fault was the bed - it is way too soft, so much so you don't get a good night sleep. Unfortunately because of this I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a firm bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
3.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutherford Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutherford Hotel Nelson

Property: Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Address: 27 Nile Street West | P O Box 248, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rutherford Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson is an extraordinary NZ destination befitting a hotel of such a high standard. The Rutherford Hotel Nelson offers luxurious hotel accommodation with a full complement of features designed to help you achieve the most from your stay. The hotel offers a range of superior guest facilities including two restaurants, a cafe and is only a couple of minutes walk from Nelson's main shopping district and landmark cathedral. Dining, relaxing, or getting away from it all, this is one of the few hotels that puts you right at the doorstep of three national parks and an unmatched range of sandy beaches, blue seas and mountain wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Rutherford Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Rutherford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing