We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Rutherford. Excellent location to the CBD and some great little cafes. We scored a room on the 7th floor with a fabulous view of the cathedral and the autumnal trees. The hotel has an awful concrete exterior and the inside decor is stuck in a an unattractive bygone era including the green carpet lining the walls of the lift. The room was large with a comfortable king and a single bed and good linen but bland beyond belief. Bathroom clean, small and functional and slightly art-deco. Shower over the bath, yuck. We dined one night in the restaurant - excellent food but again, the decor really needs lifting into the modern era. Once again, this hotel loses points for poor WiFi access/availability - 30 minutes complimentary/day in lobby/bar only. Not good enough in this day and age. We declined breakfast at the hotel for $28NZD pp in favour of a great cafe just around the corner at the top of the main street - Fords, highly recommend and free WiFi!

Room Tip: Room on a higher floor for a view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
There are newer reviews for Rutherford Hotel Nelson
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Rutherford is of a certain era. Outside it is a concrete monstrosity for which planning permission would likely not be allowed in 2014 ie it is really really ugly. However, we can forgive them that as inside, it holds more appeal. The lobby is spacious and welcoming with a lovely sweeping staircase. The staff are friendly. The hotel is well located within a short walking distance of most of Nelson's attractions.

After this, things deteriorate again. The rooms are a good size and well appointed but they are dull beyond comparison. The communal areas are the same - oppressive dark wood and dark green carpets with gold fleur-de-lys. All very 1980s. Having said that, the bed is comfy, although a little short, with good quality linens and pillows. The rooms are spotlessly clean. The bathroom was not overly large with a shower in the bath but again, it was very clean with lovely towels and tolietries.

The bar had a great atmosphere with a great range of drinks and the breakfast was great with really friendly staff and wonderful coffee.

What really lets this hotel down is its lack of amenities for business travellers and yet, of all the hotels in Nelson, it is probably the one that sees the most business people. It really needs to improve its standards and drag itself into the 2000s. There is wifi only in reception and for 30 minutes. In the bedrooms, there is wired internet only and in the other areas there is no internet at all. I no longer travel with a full size computer as I can do most of my work with an iPad. So, wired internet is no good for me. I truly believe that in this day and age, this should be a priority for a quality hotel.

So, on this basis, I can't give the Rutherford the 3 stars it probably deserves.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if internet is a priority for you
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nesbitevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraye B, Guest Relations Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments regarding decor and furnishings are appreciated and will be taken into account when next refurbishing the respective areas.
We are pleased that you found the staff friendly and that the level of cleanliness observed within your room was to a high standard.
Thank you also for your comments regarding the wi-fi coverage within the hotel and we are pleased to advise that a complete wi-fi overlay is due to commence. We anticipate that this project will be completed by mid July.
Again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rutherford Hotel Nelson in the future.
Regards
Fraye on behalf of
Bevan McGillicuddy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a weekend. The hotel is in a wonderful location, only a few minutes walk from the centre of town. The staff are very lovely and helpful, and we never had to wait too long to speak to someone at the front desk. The rooms are of good size and the bathroom seemed like it had been recently upgraded. However, the hotel was built in the 1970s, and it is showing it's age a little. In particular the polyester bed covers looked like they were from the 1970s, and the beds themselves were quite soft and not that comfortable. The bathrooms have a shower over a bath and I found the showerhead fairly low, and I'm not that tall at 172 cm. However, the hotel room was well equipped with most things you need. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I loved my previous night at the Rutherford so much that I went back for a mini-break. I had a room with a bath/shower, cracked open the wonderful manuka bathroom products and pretended I was at a spa. I slept very well and had good intentions to use the gym but had a sleep in instead. I thought it was good value to get valet off street parking for $5 and not to have to worry about my car being on the street overnight.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richards1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Nelson is a gorgeous little town on the South Island in New Zealand. I highly recommend stopping by for a visit if you can. I stayed at Rutherford while visiting NMIT, which was within walking distance from the hotel. Everything was comfortable and convenient. I particularly enjoyed the fabulous sushi place located within the hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank oteaatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 5 days. Bedrooms were immaculate and clean. They did go over the top replacing all the towels when you wanted to use the old ones (conserve energy etc). Food was fantastic. I was the only non-meat eater and they catered extremely well for me at every meal time/break.

Cost was included in the training price so I cant comment on value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creampinkpeony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I was instructed to park in front of the hotel, which I did. I got a paking fine and when I went to inquire about it, the receptionist claimed she had said to park facing the hotel, which she did not say. Word against word, but anyways a real hotel should have parking spaces tha are not subject to parking fines.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Mikko J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
672 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutherford Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutherford Hotel Nelson

Address: 27 Nile Street West | P O Box 248, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: £105 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rutherford Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson is an extraordinary NZ destination befitting a hotel of such a high standard. The Rutherford Hotel Nelson offers luxurious hotel accommodation with a full complement of features designed to help you achieve the most from your stay. The hotel offers a range of superior guest facilities including two restaurants, a cafe and is only a couple of minutes walk from Nelson's main shopping district and landmark cathedral. Dining, relaxing, or getting away from it all, this is one of the few hotels that puts you right at the doorstep of three national parks and an unmatched range of sandy beaches, blue seas and mountain wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rutherford Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Rutherford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing