We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely terrible”
Review of Chokdee

Chokdee
Ranked #44 of 177 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nelson
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I spend a lot of time traveling and adore thai food, but what I was served tonight didn't come close.

I had panang crispy pork belly takeaway, $23.50, for that I got 7 small pieces of over cooked rubbery pork belly and two desert spoons of veges in a sauce that only had the creamy flavour of chillies.

This place was billed as a must visit thai restaurant in Nelson.

Don't waste your time, it's overpriced and totally underwhelming, I won't be back that's for sure!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IT-GuruNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    42
    17
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't believe nelson raves about this place!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The lady who answered the phone was the best part of the restaurant. The meat (what there is of it, about 6 small pieces per dish) was chewy, dry and rubbery. We had a beef dish, chicken dish and supposedly crispy pork belly. The flavour was there if you like unbalanced flavours hoping to be savourer. And for a minimum of 18.50 with the pork at 23.50...you're definitely
getting ripped off. We eat out a lot and for this quality we won't be going back..for all you thai lovers in nelson it's definitely worth a trip over the hill to thai panda in picton..you won't be disappointed and will probably never see chokdee in the same light again! !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank temptationoftaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a chinese way of cooking thai”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

we have had many many thai experiences this was a chinese way of cooking thai as the noodles ended up in a wet sauce very like a chowmien and the pad thai was like a spaghetti with tomato paste ,i feel if you cant make an authentic pad thai you cant make thai

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zacchary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Food lovely but service very average”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I dined at Chokdee with the intent of experiencing Thai and also friends had eaten an amazing desert here which we wanted to try. The meal arrived quickly and was lovely, but after that it was all downhill. Not one of the 4 staff that were on came near us after our meal was delivered to ask how it was, or to clear our plates, or ask if we wanted desert. We waited about 15 minutes, but nothing, so decided to leave. Great food but service could have earned them a lot more from our bill.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoxyLoxy025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
225 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai food”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Since our last visit this restaurant has moved a couple of doors along to a corner site. The space is much bigger and with windows on two sides it seemed much brighter and with a view of the street to look at while eating. We ordered 2 mains to share-prawns with cashew nuts-medium spicy was a good choice with just a bit of oomph to the dish. We also had chicken satay which was delicious tender chicken and a very smooth moreish satay sauce. Both meals had a good balance of meat and veggies. Rice comes in a cute crockery pot with lid for two as part of the meal. This is a BYO wine as well as licensed restaurant and the whole meal was under $50 for the two of us to leave feeling full.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank silverthreads101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chokdee also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Chokdee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing