We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Deville

Deville
Ranked #1 of 23 Coffee & Tea in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Deville is an indoor outdoor family friendly licensed cafe. Dining style is casual/eclectic using ingredients from the Nelson region. Great representation of local wines and craft beers.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Was only told about this cafe from a shop owner in Nelson, being a tourist I would never have found this little gem hidden away in an industrial looking street. After you enter the hedge entrance you are welcomed into a garden alfresco area with little birds hopping around. The food was reasonably priced, the menu was refreshing and the coffee was pretty good. It was nice to be able sit outside under the sun away from the street to enjoy a bite to eat in the middle of Nelson.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misterQQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    53
    6
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great casual and fun cafe”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Inddor/outdoor seating, adequate shade, enclosed space where children are welcome (The gate entrance is to stop them escaping). Cheerful, efficient staff and great food at moderate prices. I will certainly return here, thoroughly enjoyed it

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“great atmosphere for quick bite or coffee”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

outdoor seating here is unique for a cafe in Nelson. just off the road on a quiet street the outdoor seating area is surrounded by foliage - you certainly don't feel like you are in the middle of town. Coffee is good and the scones & muffins are worth it. staff are friendly. lunch menu offers a good range as well. I'd rank the coffee here in the top 5 of Nelson cafes.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trav11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Found it very challenging getting into the place through a narrow and overgrown gate entrance then having to walk between tables to get in. Seems like it wants to be a cafe but feels more like a very scruffy bar taking. Trying to place an order was a long drawn out nightmare. The person behind the bar taking orders was also making the drinks so even tho we were behind only two people we stood waiting for around 15 minutes. There should be one person to take orders. Our table on the 'balcony' was very grubby and in fact the whole area was pretty grubby. Uncomfortable and scruffy old chairs. For the first time in my life, we all had to send our coffees back as it was undrinkable. I can't remember what we ate but I do remember that it was not good. Will not be back. Needsredecorating, a good clean and better service management.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeO67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deville also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Deville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing