We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely day out”

Speight's Ale House
Ranked #13 of 175 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Situated on Quarantine Rd opposite Mitre 10 Mega and the WOW Museum we are proud to be the 17th Speight's Ale House across the country and the very first of the new look Ale House! Whether its good hearty portions of southern style food or Speight's exclusive range of award winning tap beer and extensive wine list this is the place to cater for all. With space for over 250 patrons in one of our many areas of the Restaurant , Bar or sun drenched Garden Bar there is always a spot for everyone. The Speight's Ale House brings strong traditions of legendary southern hospitality and you'll find the owner operator Gareth Caldwell and his great crew of staff live and breath by these age old values. With always plenty of entertainment , live sport and weekly specials keep your eye on our "What's on at The Ale House" to be sure not to miss out! Our popular upstairs area allows us to offer a private function area in which we are capable of catering for groups up to 75 people so whether it's a Birthday Party, Social Club gathering, or just a good old get together we can cater to your every need. Come on down and see what we are all about and start experiencing the Ale House way of Southern Hospitality! "Good on ya mate"
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Lovely day out”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I came in for dinner with a group of friends a few weeks back and had a fantastic evening. I had the tuna for dinner which was recommended by the waitress. Really beautiful meal. I'd highly recommend it. Fantastic service, great music and just a great night out. Will be back for sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olivia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    98
    29
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice environment”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Nice environment...better in the summer. Good service. Food not value for money. I had the pork belly and scallops. The pork belly was sitting on quite an amount of mash. There were 4 scallops (very small ' Nelson' scallops) Very small. Placed each side of the pork belly. I was expecting quite a few scallops and felt advertising this dish as pork belly and scallops was inaccurate and disappointing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just a great place!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We recently had lunch here after visiting WOW Museum as it is just across the road, very handy. As we were on holiday there, we enjoyed our lunch so much we went back there for dinner. The kids loved their fries, I must admit they were some of the nicest I've ever had!! I also had for dinner some of the nicest curried pumpkin soup that I have ever had too. It was a very busy place on the Saturday night, plenty of TV's with the rugby on and a great atmosphere with the fires going too. Overall a very nice place to go, whether be a meal or a beer. A great menu. Cheers!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brewsterfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Brilliant service and food”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

During a day trip to Nelson we were trying to choose from the myriad of cafes and restaurants that are on offer in this cute town. We spotted this Speights Ale House while driving around and having dined at two other Speights Ale House during our holiday with great satisfaction we decided to pop in. It is a beautiful looking building from the outside with lots of timber and stone and glass. It is also beautifully decorated inside with timber doors and window casements hanging from the roof to add atmosphere as well as funky lighting of bulbs inside glass bottles. We were greeted warmly by the barman as we walked in and very quickly we were approached by a lovely young waitress who was very knowledgeable of the menu and the daily specials and made a few recommendations which we then ordered. Given that we were just wanting a lighter style lunch we ordered the Nachos as well as some other appetizers. We have to say that we think this is probably the best nachos we have ever had! It was huge and was piled up with the toppings which consisted of a delicious mince/beans, guacamole, fresh tomato and onion salsa and sour cream. Oh and don't forget the melted cheese. Some nachos you have to search for the toppings but not this one! We would definitely recommend this Speights Ale House as well as any other Speights Ale House you have the chance to try!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ainsworths14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nothing pretentious, just good pub grub (and decent beer!)”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Friendly, busy place, well used by locals and (I guess) visitors to the WOW Museum, which is opposite.
Tasty food, reasonably priced, enthusiastically cooked and served.
Warning;- some of the portions are huge!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 99Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speight's Ale House also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Speight's Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing