We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of New Zealand”
Review of Te Puna Wai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Ranked #5 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2007

Another 5-star review for Te Puna Wai Lodge! This excellent B&B is set in a beautifully restored Victorian home on a hill overlooking Tasman Bay. The rooms are spotless, comfortable, quiet, and furnished with antiques. We had the ground floor to ourselves, which consisted of a large suite with a full kitchen and a smaller bedroom with a refrigerator. The suite has a balcony overlooking the bay.

Richard and James are excellent hosts, friendly and helpful with local advice. The breakfast included cold cereals, fresh fruit and yogurt, fresh orange juice, coffee or tea. We were also offered eggs with bacon and toast. The Boat Shed restaurant is excellent and within walking distance. In sum, this was probably the best place we stayed on our trip through New Zealand, and all at a very reasonable price. My only regret is that we were passing through and couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citybeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2007

The best B&B on the South Island. The view from the room was amazing, our hosts were great, the breakfast was very good. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2007

We stayed in the Fifeshire Suite and the Wakatu room. The Fifeshire suite had an amazing view of the sea and the Wakatu room was quiet and in an out of the way place in the house, which was very nice. The rooms were very pleasant, clean, and comfortable. The bathrooms are fabulous and very elegant – the Fifeshire suite had a claw foot tub that was absolutely amazing and a large walk in shower. The Wakatu room just had a large walk-in shower. Free wireless internet throughout the B&B was a huge plus – they also had a computer for you to use if you didn’t bring your own. The B&B itself is beautiful, an old Captains home from the late 1800’s - it really is a remarkable place. Great outdoor areas for sitting and enjoying wine. The location is fantastic – only a 10 minute drive to downtown Nelson and 15 minutes from the airport. Abel Tasman and wineries are all within 30 -45 minutes. I can’t say enough about Richard and James – they were just the most amazing hosts and being the first place that we stayed during our travels, they really set the bar high for our expectations on the rest of the trip. They helped us make reservations for various activities and made great recommendations. They also had all sorts of maps and tourist info at the house for you to use. A must stop while in Nelson is the Smoke House restaurant – this place was fantastic and was probably our favorite meal of the trip. It was right on the water with great scenery and superb food (we thought it was even better than the boatshed, which we also went to). It’s a great place to stop if you’re visiting the vineyards or coming back from Able Tasman. I would recommend both Abel Tasman and the vineyards around Nelson. I would suggest a day hike through Abel Tasman (take the boat taxi and then hike through the park for a pick up at another location). Plenty of vineyards to choose from, Kahurangi vineyard was our favorite (try the just released 2007 Pinot Gris – it is fantastic). I would highly recommend staying at Te Puna Wai with Richard and James - you wil have a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Chicagotraveler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

We absolutely loved this place! Hosts Richard and James were extremely accomodating and had fantastic recommendations for what to do in the Nelson area. We stayed in 4 B&Bs while were in New Zealand, and this was by far our favorite! The bathroom in the Fifeshire Suite is amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SweetE315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

Stayed a night at Te Puna Wai in early June after reading the rave reviews posted on this website. The house is situated just outside of Nelson City itself (maybe 3 minutes by car), yet within walking distance of some great waterfront restaurants (The Boatshed was excellent). The view of Haulashore Island is wonderful.
Richard & James couldn’t have been more helpful, even moving their car so that we could park ours easily off the road. We ended up leaving too late the next morning after chatting away with them for ages!
Accommodation is generous and comfortable, and the bathroom was large and extremely clean. Lovely kitchen in the apartment suite. There were little extras like free beers and sparkling wine, but which make a great difference. We also had a use of a large guest lounge with free internet access – all with a fantastic views.
Breakfast the next morning was lovely – very generous.
Our only regret was that we couldn’t have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SussexCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2007

Te Puna Wai is as beautiful as the pictures and my husband and I enjoyed every minute. Climbing the odd and narrow staircase to the Fifeshire Suite is like climbing the secret stairs -- but once there the rooms are very spacious, and the bed and bath supremely comfortable. The view is beautiful and a breath of serenity at all times of the day. We were there in May, definitely off season for Nelson, but the weather was quite temperate and there were plenty of things to see & do in the vicinity.

James & Richard are superb hosts. They are extremely accommodating & helpful with reservations & suggested activities to suit all tastes, but equally happy to let visitors be. I'd make a special trip to Nelson just to stay at Te Puna Wai again.
Sue + Bruce, Ottawa, Canada

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank SueOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2007

Easily one of the best B&B's we've ever enjoyed. Perched atop a wonderfully restored home, the accomodation offers a stunning view voer the water and within walking distance of the water and some of the best food in Nelson at the Boat Shed.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tgswallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wakefield Quay House
Wakefield Quay House
#6 of 55 in Nelson
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
1.6 mi away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Puna Wai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Puna Wai Lodge

Address: 24 Richardson Street | Britannia Heights, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: £87 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Puna Wai Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, historic (1857) home - in Nelson's premier location - with a magical view encompassing the harbour entrance and Tasman Bay. In the west 2 mountain ranges contribute to dramatic sunsets. Three elegant rooms: Haulashore Apartment has a designer kitchen (with laundry appliances), veranda & terrace; adjacent Wakatu Room (doesn't get a direct view but often paired with Haulashore); top-floor Fifeshire Suite with unparalleled view. All have luxurious marble-tiled bathrooms. WIFI is complimentary. Relaxed, affable hosts. Four minutes to town or 4 the other way to the city beach (Tahunanui). Richard speaks German, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish. Te Puna Wai's guests are helping keep a special part of NZ early architecture alive & humming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Te Puna Wai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Puna Wai Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing