We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Te Puna Wai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Ranked #1 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ny
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A very special B&B”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The location, view, ambiance, comfort and character of this property would suffice for 4 (dots?), but the quality of the breakfast and solicitous conversation of James and Richard adds another. I'm sure the house has an interesting history, had its records not burned (per James). Perfectly situated between Tahunanui beach and the town centre, we hated to leave.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pangloss356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
215
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We've just spent 3 wonderful weeks driving around NZ. We stayed at a number of lovely B & Bs but Te Puna Wai will always be remembered as a high point. James and Richard made us feel at home, provided every comfort and convenience. Their house is elegant and welcoming with beautiful ocean views and sea breezes. The location is great with 3 really good restaurants a 10 minute walk away; it's a short drive to an amazing beach and only a half hour to the wine country. Breakfast was delicious and came with lots of excellent local information. We would probably have missed the car collection at WOW were it not for James and Richard insisting that it's a must see, and how right they were. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stetson, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, originally we were only going to stay for one night, but we didn't want to leave. Richard and James are amazing! Full of life, information and are extremely kind and helpful. We loved our room, we loved their home. Breakfast was amazing. THey helped us plan our travels... I could go on and on. Their home is beautifully decorated. We love art and so do they! It is near everything. Short walk to the beach and to the water. Amazing views. STAY HERE!!!!! :) 5 Stars !!!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good rooms. The top floor has an amazing vie and beautiful marble in the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chele1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We Stayed in the Haulashore apartment so had benefit of wonderful sea views and every facility that we could wish for. We stayed for 5 nights and felt that we could have stayed for longer.

James and Richard are wonderful hosts. They are relaxing to be with if you want to enjoy their company. They are informed and informative about Nelson and New Zealnd in generally. When Richard discovered that I had chosen to celebrate my 65th birthday at Te Puna Wai he gave me a bottle of champagne. On another occassion he drove us to The Boat Shed Cafe so that we wouldn't get wet when it was raining.

Te Puna Wei is very well located in Nelson. Close to 3 excellent restaurants - just 5 minutes walk. The location is quiet. The gardens are delightful and guests are encouraged to use them. Sitting in such beautiful gardens overlooking the Tasman Bay and the comings and goings og the watercraft is joy on warm evenings.

The apartment has a well equipped kitchen with oven, hob and plenty of pans. There are plenty of dishes and kitchen utensils too. There is a dishwasher and plenty of kitchen cloths to keep everything clean and tidy. We didn't cook because we liked to eat out but had we wanted to everything was available in abundance.

James and Richard stocked the refrigerator with two types of beer plus tonic water (6bottles of each). They stocked the larder with oils, sauces, many condiments as well as good quality tea and coffee (caffetiere type). They even provided a bottle each of Gin, Whisky and Vodka in the larder.

James and Richard are unusually generous and helpful. There is nothing to not like or criticise. A great place to stay and we hope to return! Even from Portugal!

Room Tip: We booked the Haulashore apartment and were very pleased with this apartment. We would have been ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The crescendo of our trip! We spent our last night in New Zealand @ Te Puna Wai. A beautiful way to end a spectacular trip. We stayed on the top floor with our two boys. Amazing view and wonderful room and amazing bathroom. Private and cozy. Breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, and delicious juice. Crisp white napkins with personally numbered napkin rings. We'll be back, if only to spend more time in Nelson. Thank you guys! Best ever.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtrachtenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed in the Fifeshire suite and found the room spacious and the view breath-taking. The hosts gave great recommendations for local restaurants and markets. They were also very gracious and allowed us to do some much-needed laundry after a trek.

One down side, which the hosts have no control over, is the road noise; there was a fair bit of partying and tire-squealing at night. Also the drive way is very steep and sharp, so be careful entering.

Breakfast was served in a lovely mango-colored room over looking the bay. It was tasty, but felt just the slightest bit rushed-they were, however, dealing with multiple groups coming and going.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whats4dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

James and Richard were thoroughly helpful during our stay. We were not sure whether to visit the Abel Tasman Park and it was only because of their advice that we went. I am now glad we did. Our room was clean, well furnished and comfortable in this beautiful historic house. The breakfasts were excellent and were enough to satisfy the largest of appetites. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. Thank you James and Richard for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
644 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
534 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Puna Wai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Puna Wai Lodge

Property: Te Puna Wai Lodge
Address: 24 Richardson Street | Britannia Heights, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Puna Wai Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, historic (1857) home - in Nelson's premier location - with a magical view encompassing the harbour entrance and Tasman Bay. In the west 2 mountain ranges contribute to dramatic sunsets. Three elegant rooms: Haulashore Apartment has a designer kitchen (with laundry appliances), veranda & terrace; adjacent Wakatu Room (doesn't get a direct view but often paired with Haulashore); top-floor Fifeshire Suite with unparalleled view. All have luxurious marble-tiled bathrooms. WIFI is complimentary. Relaxed, affable hosts. Four minutes to town or 4 the other way to the city beach (Tahunanui). Richard speaks German, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish. Te Puna Wai's guests are helping keep a special part of NZ early architecture alive & humming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Puna Wai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Puna Wai Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing