We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Warwick House(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutique Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rutherford Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greens Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
321
14
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
321
14
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floornew zealanddownstairs apartmenttasman baythird floorfabulous viewswonderful hostsbreakfast was deliciousvictorian househaulashore islandview of the bayyogurtfrench doorsfresh flowerswithin walking distanceeach morningtwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We booked a couple of nights in Nelson to recover from our 24hr trip from the UK, on our way down to other parts of the South Island, and it turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. Te Puna Wai is a gorgeous colonial-style house in a lovely setting, and Richard and James were superb hosts - the breakfast spread has to be seen to be believed! We stayed up on the top floor and the views across the water were spectacular. We really liked the town of Nelson too, just a short walk over the hill from the Lodge. Highly recommend a trip to Melrose House for lunch or some tea, and the Boat Shed for dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmcdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Richard & James at Te Puna Wai sure know how to look after their guests. The place is beautiful and so very comfortable and has the most exquisite views over the bay. Travelling in May is great as the days are sunny and warm enough for t shirts. Nights a little colder. So many things to do and see in the surrounding area. Or just relax on the balcony with a Ginger wine on ice! Its a home away from home. A must for anyone visiting the area. A lot nicer to stay here than a normal hotel.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beef64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Celebrating our 42nd wedding anniversary we had the wonderful experience of staying with Richard and James in their beautiful B&B! We stayed four nights, one on the lower floor front that was gorgeous (with a much needed washer & dryer!) and the last three on the top floor with this magnificent view of the water. We felt so at home with these two special men fixing us delicious breakfasts each morning and sharing their love and knowledge of where to go and what to do nearby. It is an easy walk to two of our favorite restaurants there, Boat Shed and Harbor Bistro. This is also a great location to be to explore the Abel Tasman National Park; we kayaked, swam, and hiked all around the area. Also loved visiting the WOW museum of Nelson, all within an easy drive. We loved Richard and James and when we were there, also their dear friend Grant, who also helped us have a great time. We were sad to leave this sweet experience. Thank you so much you guys for also helping us plan the rest of our tour of South Island, all that you told us about was indeed amazing and perfect for us! Would love to return to see you both again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleG149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Te Puna Wai Lodge was the most outstanding B&B we have stayed at during our visit to South Island. A beautiful furnished lodge. The top floor bedroom was spacious with a great view over the ocean. Luxurious bathroom . Delicious breakfasts. Thank you Richard and James for making our stay so comfortable, pleasurable and memorable. You are excellent hosts.
Germaine & Peter

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank germainev_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

So glad we were able to stay here. The hosts, Richard and James, are lovely people and have thought of everything one might want or need to make your stay a pleasure. They can provide you with a wealth of information and suggestions regarding the area and really make you feel welcome. We stayed on the top floor with a main room that provides a splendid view, an additional smaller side room with double bed that can be used as a dressing room, and an elegant bathroom. The ambience is so pleasant that we didn't feel inspired to see much of Nelson (admittedly this was at the end of 4 weeks of site-seeing in NZ and some strenuous activities). Breakfast was tasty and more inventive than most B&B's. The property is in a pleasant residential area but an easy walk to the water and several good restaurants. Should we return to Nelson, this is where we will hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiLeGma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews