We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal stay in Nelson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Ideal stay in Nelson”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

While traveling down the West side of the South Island, we luckily happened on Nelson after ferrying over from the North Island. Our NZ information hostess booked us a room at the Trailways, and couldn't have been more correct. Our room faced the river, a tide-spontaneous spectical that we enjoyed watching through its various ebbs and flows. The hotel is very neat, clean and meticulously maintained. The shower is possibly the most comfortable I've ever taken, and I'm a shower fanatic of sorts. Only stayed here 1 night, but could have been comfortable for several more. We lucked out staying here in Nelson, and the cost was a great deal.

Room Tip: Stay on the river side, 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    199
    55
    13
    7
See reviews for
46
244
35
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here - staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel is in a great central location and the rooms are lovely with fridges, bathrobes, spa baths and balconies. Breakfast was great too - plenty of choice.
It was a bit noisy in the corridors - there are signs asking guests to be quiet but some didn't take any notice of these. You can get free wifi in reception but have to pay for broadband int he rooms which I found a bit strange.
A lovely hotel though and I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for your review on our property. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

At present WIFI is only available in the reception / bar area. We are happy to advise that we are installing new equipment in the Hotel that will provide WIFI to all accommodation rooms as well. This should be in place and operating by mid January 2012 at the latest.
Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, walking distance to downtown. Not super-elegant or pricey, just pleasant and airy. There was a bit of noise from the plumbing in other rooms but didn't notice it except when I was in the bathroom. Good breakfasts. We didn't eat dinner there. We would definitey stay there again when we go to Nelson.

Room Tip: Ask for a river-side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel. We liked the food and the set menus were good value. The hotel was clean and the beds comfortable. However the hotel is very noisy and plumbing noises are in particular very loud. These noises woke us up several times on two of the three nights we stayed there. Guests leaving the restaurant on Saturday night were very loud too. Other noise problems were squeaking doors and guests talking at 3:30 am on the balcony. Not at all a restful stay. The manager has said he will attend to these matters but I think there construction of the hotel is at fault. All the staff were friendly and efficient. Howver none of these compensate for a restful and undisturbed sleep.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I wanted to personally extend my thanks for the wonderful work Trailways and
its staff did for us for our conference in November 2011. We had a great time, the venue was perfect and the food was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richards1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Although they do run a hotel service, the style of the building and the quality of the rooms are more of a top grade motel.
We had a room overlooking the river which was pleasant enough but the room itself was small. There was a small balcony which was nice to sit out at and eat some lunch.
The bed was a zip and link, but was exceptionally comfy. They even had feather pillows, and non feather pillows!
The spa bath was great, and the shower was one of the best. Even the amenities were of a good standard.
The walls were a bit thin, so there was noise from other guests - but nothing that kept us up. Though that was more of a credit to the other guests than the hotel.
The waiting service in the restaurant was great. They were really friendly, as were the cleaning staff. The service at the front desk left me a little underwhelmed.
I felt that the pictures on the website were misleading. The swimming pool is more of a puddle in the car park - literally.
The restaurant is situated right next to the river - lovely view.
Breakfast was substandard - but ok.
It is a great location - very close to central Nelson. But I will be looking for somewhere else to stay next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally_loves_camping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Trailways is pleasantly located riverside in central Nelson. You can walk to the centre of town in about 5 minutes, and on to the cathedral in about 10.
Our room wasn't fancy (it looked out over the carpark), but it was spacious and did have a king size bed.
There was quite a lot of noise from other guests in the hallway, and it was difficult to get the room to maintain a comfortable temperature.
The bathroom was well stocked, and reception staff were lovely.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms have a view. Rooms upstairs may be quieter than the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
660 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#13 of 41 in Nelson
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailways Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Property: Trailways Hotel Nelson
Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre, and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing