We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Let Down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

First things first. Staff were really good & helpful from checking in to the breakfast restaurant , no complaints. Bedrooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable. A problem regulating the shower resulted in an upgrade of accommodation only to find the same in the upgraded suite. No instructions to operate the jacuzzi bath so a colder shower than normal was had.
A big disappointment was the cost of wifi. During our travels in the South Island, only once have we had to fork out for this necessity and that was ten dollars. Trailways charged the sum of $107, which was nothing short of scandalous. Meals in 'Tides' restaurant were fine but on the pricey side.
Hotel location was good and very accessible.

Room Tip: Don't bother upgrading, the basic rooms are more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murdo428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear Murdo428, thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to read that our staff looked after you well. I was sorry to read about your water concerns. We have now had our maintenance team address this and this should not happen again.
As of the 1 May 2012 we changed our Hotel policy to now offer all guests complimentary WIFI. Therefore I am happy to advise that we have reversed the full charge to your credit card today.
I hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand
Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for 1 night and have no complaints. Well serviced room with all the required facility's. Staff were friendly and helpful and the view from our balcony was top class. The onsite restaurant was great again with friendly staff and lovely yummy food. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan and Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Dear Dan and Sarah, thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at Trailways Hotel. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your time staying with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels
Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I dined there on the 17th and 18th April - the 17th was very good the 18th appalling in contrast to the 17th- it was like a different restaurant. The staff were different and had a poor approach to customer service. I waited in vain for a coffee as all they were intent on doing was to set up for breakfast. The Roast Beef meal was terrible, smothered in gravy, and tastless. I raised this with the waitress who did not seem interested - I also raised it with the receptionist that evening again an indiferent response. I have stayed and dined at Trailways in the past with no complaints about the service or meals but after my experience on the 17th and 18th this is one Hotel that is no longer on my list.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrand79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Mr Brand, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your dining experiences at The Tides Restaurant during your stay with us.

I was very sorry to read about your experience on the second evening and how we did not deliver our normal standard of service and quality of meal. I would like to pass on my sincerest apologies for this experience.

At The Tides Restaurant we strive to provide the same great service and meals irrespective of the night and team that are rostered, therefore your feedback is vital to ensure on an evening when we do not deliver that we can follow up with all involved. Since your feedback I have now spoken to each person that was involved in your care on the evening.

Once again thank you for your feedback, I do hope on your next visit to Nelson you do give us a second chance to rectify this experience.

Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our company has just been hosted by Trailways Hotel for a small Conference for our team of 15 people.
I can't speak highly enough of the assistance, surroundings, friendliness that we experienced there.
The rooms are stylish, super comfortable, quiet, well appointed and beautifully presented. The food was delivered ontime, and was enjoyed by all, especially the yummy breakfast.
Thank you to the Bar staff who supplied candles, and wine and coffees even when the hour was late....well done Garry and the Team...I highly recommend you all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Karen, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the experience you and your group had whilst staying at Trailways for your conference. I was very pleased to read how well your enjoyed your stay and shall certainly pass on your feedback to our team.
Kind regards
Garry Munro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Every acommodation was completely full-booked when we arrived to Nelson so we decided to stop at every hotel/hostel/motel we found. Fortunately we found Trailways Hotel and got the last available room. It was a bit over our budget but the nice girl at the front desk gave us a cheaper price since it was the only room available. We certainly didn´t regret it! The service and the room was great! It was clean, practical, great location with walking distance to the city centre. We had microwave, stove, fridge, bath-tub, comfortable beds, well everything you might need to make your road-trip a bit more comfortable. We warmly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Backpackerlover, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay here at Trailways Hotel Nelson. I was very pleased to read that you took a chance on staying with us when you arrived in Nelson and that you enjoyed the facilities and cleanliness of your room and our central location to Nelson. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated.
Kind regards
Garry Munro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We have spent three weeks touring New Zealand and not staying anywhere more than two nights. Trailways is the best, believe me. It cost, maybe, £20 more per night but was worth every penny. The difference occurs when considering the staff. Not only were the reception staff the best ever but the back office, who are adjacent to reception, chipped in with great ideas for our trip as well. We travel the world and in the last two years this includes Australia, USA (three times), India, Maldives, Italy etc. I say this so you know we know what we are talking about. The rooms are really well appointed with everything one could wish for. Ask for a room overlooking the river and then buy a bottle of wine to sit on the balcony and enjoy!

Room Tip: Overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StumpyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Stumpy London, it was such a pleasure to read your lovely review on Trailways Hotel and the staff that looked after you during your stay. I will certainly pass on your positive feedback to everyone. I hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback whislt you are on your travels.
Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Very nice place to stay with very friendly and helpful service. Nice room looking out onto a we river. Very comfortable and plesant room. Nice big bed. Within 5 mins to walk to the main centre.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Joan, thank you for posting your feedback. We were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and the lovely big bed in your room. As you mentioned our location is ideal being a short walk into the main centre of town and a lot of guests enjoy our location for this reason. We look forward to one day welcoming you back to Nelson and Trailways Hotel.
Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
713 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 42 in Nelson
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailways Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £64 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes' walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing