We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Great people. Outstanding friendliness of reception staff who were always ready to help. For example the free Wi-Fi was down so they made the effort to provide temporary access to Wi-Fi from another Hotel across the road until their own could be rectified. When you choose a Hotel based partly on its provision of Wi-Fi, and you depend on it working it is appreciated that they actually care to do a temporary "fix" so their customers are not disadvantaged. Hey, most operators in this part of the world would just shrug their shoulders, blame someone else and do nothing. WELL DONE!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the recently renovated rooms....great bathrooms...standing spa!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review and for your understanding regarding the issue with the free WIFI. I'm glad we solved this for you. You will be delighted to hear that we have already planned to upgrade more of our rooms with the multi-jet spa showers you enjoyed so much, as they are extremely popular.
Regards
Sara & the team at Trailways Hotel Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    200
    55
    13
    7
See reviews for
46
246
36
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My agency booked this hotel and I can only recommend that you choose wisely and select another place to rest for the night. This hotel, even thought I did not have to pay, is a expensive wana be hotel. The restaurant is shocking and the food quality is absolutely terrible. if you intend to have breakfast in the morning I can only recommend to go to some of the near by cafes. At least your morning starts in the right way. During the first night there was a noise and I was not able to figure out what it was but then again in the second night, it was there again and when I stepped outside I realized it is the person next door snoring! I do not think I need to say anymore to this. To say at least some good things, the location is good and the staff is good but everything else,

Room Tip: do yourself a favor and book another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
All feedback is very important to us and we would like to thank you for taking the time to place this review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we have tried to contact you to get some information on the issues you encountered. We have taken your comments to our heads of departments to address.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns and we do sincerely apologise that in this instance we did not meet our usual high standards.

Kind regards, Sara & the team at Trailways Hotel Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Friendly staff at this centrally located hotel. Rooms were fine, and the bed roomy, comfortable and warm. Windows were opened during the day which meant it took time to warm the room, but they were well aired which I like. Food was good although pricey. The wine offerings were good and good value. Best food value was the pork schnitzel light meal - very very nice. The vegetables were imaginative, well cooked and tasty: broccoli with hollandaise, red cabbage and carrot & swede mash. My poached fish and scallops the next night were delicious too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your review of Trailways Hotel and The Tides Restaurant. Our award-winning restaurant is always popular and is known for a very extensive menu, which you obviously enjoyed. We would love to see you again on your next visit to Nelson.
Regards, Sara and the Trailways Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a tour with red carpet tours and has been my favourite hotel so far. Being a cold time of year, the bathroom as heated flooring and an electric blanket which makes an extremely comfortable sleep. Breakfast was lovely and cooked just how asked! Receptionist who was on duty on the Sunday evening of the 11th was extremely helpful with my trillions of questions! Hotel is within walking distant of shops and a lovely cinema. Plus the big bonus FREE WI FI! Didn't have any signal in my room but comfortable seating areas where I did get full fast signal. I think this puts the bigger hotels to shame not offering this free wi fi when this small yet comfortable hotel does. Great job guys and thank you for a comfortable night!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily87h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm very happy to hear that our location and staff made your stay enjoyable. I apologise that the WIFI was not working in your room as free access is usually available throughout the hotel. I will investigate this to get the issue fixed.
We would love to see you again if you decide to return to Nelson.
Regards, Sara & the Trailways Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Trailways hosted our annual AGM, which included lunch for 70 people and dinner for 100. Throughout the conference the service was excellent and the food superb. Highly recommended. Nothing was a problem throughout the day, many attendees stayed in the Hotel, all with good comments and compliments on the success of the AGM and Awards Dinner that followed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We really enjoyed having your group in and I'm glad that our accommodation and conference rooms suited your needs. The buffet lunch and set menu for dinner were popular choices and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Kind regards, Sara and the team at Trailways Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in a rather quiet month, and yet we had 3 nights of broken sleep. The hotel is in a great location and for the price has rather nice rooms. However the insulation in this hotel is very poor, so if you don't mind being woken up all the time by the other guest it's a good a good place to stay. If your looking for a quieter retreat then look else where.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 969MelissaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your review. I appreciate the feedback and I do apologise that the young sports team staying with us at the time of your visit were noisy. I hope that you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to provide the high level of comfort we pride ourselves on. Kind regards, Sara and the Trailways Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stay at Trailways hotel made for a lovely stay. Staff were welcoming and friendly. The room is well appointed with good lighting over the computer desk area. Electric blankets are great. The heating in the room by a quiet air conditioner was great. Very clean room. The room service food was very good and staff responded to food alterations. A very nice stay and definitely will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a spa bath, if you like baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Trailways Hotel Nelson. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and all the facilities in your room. I hope you also made the most of our free WIFI. Our team are always happy to help with special dietary requests, for room service or in The Tides Restaurant. We look forward to having you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
667 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailways Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Property: Trailways Hotel Nelson
Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes' walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing