We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serviceable and well-located; review for hotel only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Serviceable and well-located; review for hotel only”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We are not at all sorry that we stayed here because we never had to move our car in 2 days. The hotel makes much of it's riverside location, but to us, that was just plain weird because the river literally disappeared for fully half the time (when the tide was out), leaving a muddy, greenish slime view from our second-floor room. The wind kept knocking our patio umbrella over, so finally we just left it on the ground (another guest had his blown off his balcony altogether.

The room was not large but it worked - it had a tiny fridge and tea dishes and utensils, a small table and a couple of chairs and a respectable bed. If you need TV, this place is for you - they have tons of channels and good movies.

The one thing we had trouble getting used to was that the room did not lock unless you pushed in the lock button on the knob. We realized this when some people walked right into our room, thinking it was theirs. Also, there is no elevator so guests need to be prepared to walk up a flight or get themselves a ground-floor accommodation.

This review is strictly for the hotel - we did not eat at the onsite restaurant.

Room Tip: Disabled travelers must ask for a ground-floor room as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbranman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Trailways Hotel. I'm delighted you made the most of our proximity to Nelson's central city, with all the wonderful cafes, art galleries and speciality shops.

I appreciate your feedback regarding the new umbrellas and the unseasonal winds we had recently. I am currently investigating options to prevent this happening again.

I would also like to apologise that other guests entered into your room accidentally. The door locks are a very common type in New Zealand but I do recognise that they are unfamilar for our overseas guests.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your visit to New Zealand.

Kind regards
Sara and the team at Trailways Hotel Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    191
    53
    12
    7
See reviews for
45
235
34
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

For the past ten days we have enjoyed the hospitality of this fine quality establishment. The front of house from reception to the serving team in the restaurant have been very welcoming and pleasant throughout our stay. The hotel offers everything you could want on your travels, including a guest laundry, excellent food, including one of the best breakfast buffet in Nelson and an excellent selection of drinks from the hotel bar. The house keeping team look after you exceptionally well and maintain excellent standards in the rooms. The room we had overlooked the river with a fine balcony. This hotel is well placed for all Nelson attractions and has ample off street parking right in the centre of Town. This hotel will always be our top choice when visiting Nelson.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of Trailways Hotel. We really enjoy having guests stay for longer periods, as it gives us a chance to get to know you and suggest places to visit around our lovely region. I'm delighted to hear your enjoyed your meals in The Tides Restaurant, which is well known for its extensive evening menu and the ever-popular breakfast buffet.
We certainly look forward to your next visit with us.
Kind regards
Sara and the team at Trailways Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

A very friendly and welcoming gentleman met us when we arrived and he couldn't have been more helpful too.

The hotel is clean and well maintained and the staff were great, friendly and knowledgeable and keen to help.

In a very good location too it was a great start to our visit in the South Island.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Trailways Hotel and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you visit us again.
Kind regards
Sara and the team at Trailways Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

As small hotels go this one is up there with the best. It was clean, comfortable, welcoming and with all the services I needed. The room was light and airy with a useful patio area outside.The staff were friendly and particularly helpful in sorting out a Wine Tour for me. Laundry facilities are good - easy use of slot machine washer and dryer. The restaurant was acceptable with tasty food for both breakfast and dinner. The hotel is well placed for the town, just by the river bridge, with a quick few seconds walk onto the main shopping street.It makes a very good base for exploring the Nelson area. Well recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for your review and positive comments about Trailways Hotel. I'm delighted to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful. We love having international visitors stay, so we can help to show off our lovely region. I'm also glad you made the most of the hotel's proximity to the centre of Nelson and that you enjoyed your meals in The Tides Restaurant.
Kind regards
Sara and all the team at Trailways Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodelwyddan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel is well situated for major road access and the town centre. We had a lovely room overlooking the swimming pool which was a lovely asset. The spa bath was wonderful. The rooms were modern, clean and a very comfortable large bed. The staff were smiling and friendly, breakfast was good, we had the continental but the full cooked breakfast looked lovely. The hotel is well placed for the town centre with its lovely bars.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Trailways Hotel. Its great to hear you enjoyed your poolside room and the super king bed. I hope you took the time to have a dip in the heated pool - its a lovely way to relax at the end of the day.
Thank you again for your comments.
Regards
Sara and all the team at Trailways Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The location of the Hotel is central to the main shopping area in Nelson,it has good off street parking.The view from the dinning room is very relaxing, while you enjoy your well presented meal , you would'nt know you were a City,it is first class. I have been a tour driver for 20 years, staying in many Hotels, rated from two star to five star.
I would rate Nelson's Trailways Hotel The best of any hotel in NZ that i have stayed in. All the staff are very well trained at there jobs, the meals are exerlent ,cleanly ness is tops,the comfort is great, and the price is right.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of Trailways Hotel. It is great to get feedback from regular travellers such as yourself and I will definitely pass your comments on to the staff here. I hope you visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Sara and the team at Trailways Hotel & The Tides Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed in the beautiful Riverside First Floor Mezzanine Suite. It was very spacious, with a little kitchen, dining area and bathroom, then up some stairs a mezzanine with a king bed and a tv. There is a balcony that overlooks the river (sometimes it is just mud, it has a tide). The room is nice and modern and has a spa bath, which fills up nice and fast. The staff were very polite and the breakfast at the hotel was nice. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed our stay, and would definitely be back. The only downside was the TV by the bed wasn't working. The hotel is very close to town, easy walking distance. We stayed off season and got a very good rate for the room.

Room Tip: Riverside First Floor Mezzanine Suite was great, would definitely want to stay in this room again as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. You picked a great time to visit Nelson, with all the sunshine we have had! I'm delighted that you enjoyed the Mezzaine Suite, which is certainly a lovely room with the view over the river and the extra living space. Thank you for making us aware of the issue with the TV, which has since been rectified.
We would love to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Sara and the team at Trailways Hotel Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
644 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailways Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Property: Trailways Hotel Nelson
Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre, and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing