We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended Hotel/Motel in Nelson NZ.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a a great value for money Hotel/Motel in Nelson NZ. Situated on the back of a tidal river that is overlooked by the Bar and Restaurant and there are both ground floor and first floor rooms that overlook the river also. Situated very close to the shopping precinct of Nelson, an easy walk to the shopping precinct, Banks, Supermarket, Boating harbour and if your a bit more energetic, a good, testing walk to the Nelson lookout (be warned, it is a steep, steep climb, but well worth the effort). Rooms are spacious with a well equipped kitchen set up, clean and well maintained, staff were very friendly and accommodating. Good value for money, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river would be a little quieter as they are further from the road, but the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Trailways Hotel online. It is always great
to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay, and made the most of our proximity to
many of the towns attractions. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

As a solo traveller, I chose this hotel for its location:
It was about 6 minutes walk from the intercity bus stop
to the hotel. The room was clean and the staff was
friendly. This was one of the best hotels and motels
I stayed during my 47 days trip in Australia and New
Zealand.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yyf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trailways Hotel. We think the location is
great too, especially if you enjoy to be able to wander, information centre, movies, restaurants
and shops within 5-10 minutes. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

the servce at this hotel is amazing, nothing is too much trouble, the rooms were typical hotel style, good beds and linen, a lovely view of the river, with outdoor furniture to sit and enjoy a wine, rooms very serviced and were very clean.
the room service breakfast was excellent and delivered at the nominated time

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to review Trailways Hotel. Your positive feedback is appreciated.,
and we are always pleased to hear guests have enjoyed the extra touches such as our outdoor settings. Nelson sunshine always adds a nice dimension too.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is one of the best places we stayed at during our two-week NZ trip. We booked a Studio Spa room, and stayed in room 65. The rooms were spacious and invited, and the heat lamps and heated floors in the bathroom were a nice touch. Lugging bags up the stairs was a bit of a challenge, but nothing we couldn't handle. We were glad we didn't spend the extra money on a riverside room, because it was dark for the vast majority of the time we were in the room anyway, and no noises from the carpark made it through during the night.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 65 - spacious and well-located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 294beckyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback on line. It's always good
to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay, and the liittle extras ie heated floors in the bathroom
are appreciated. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Good value and good place to stay over when you travel! Friendly and helpful receptionist :) nice restaurant there! Yummy foods , well presentation . Loved the pork belly very much! There's has a good value of set menu for 3 courses ! Should try it when you stay over :) everyone provide a good service in restaurant. Especially a lady to bring the painting set for my 2 little child without request while we are waiting the dishes comes! Thank you so much :)

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Lotibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Trailways Hotel Nelson, your feedback is very improtant to us. It is great to hear you enjoyed your meal in the Tides Restaurant, the 3 course set menu being a very popular option, as is the childrens colouring in book. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We pre-booked our rooms for a great rate $99 per double and $144 for a treble. The rooms were clean, newly decorated. The only negative is that there isn't a lift so you have to lug bags up a flight of stairs to get to the first floor and no-one was available to do it for you. The lady at the counter, Kathy, was really helpful and helped us find a perfect place for dinner. The location is also perfect. Oh, one more thing the rooms weren't that soundproof.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review of Trailways Hotel Nelson.

I do apologise that no one helped you with your bags. We do usually have staff available to assist with this and I will follow up to find out what happened when you arrived.

We would love to have you visit us again in the future.

Kind regards
Sara and the team at Trailways Hotel Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My Wife and I recently stayed at your establishment over the Easter Period. Now for a touch of reality. Fabulous friendly prompted front of desk service. Our room was well setup for us to nestle ourselves into a home away from home feeling. One late night to surprise my Wife I went down to roomservice on the spur of the moment to ask for a midnight surprise Birthday Cake with a candle, nice touch. I understand the dessert chef was dragged back to do the honours. Next day Dinner and following day Breakfast was absolute devine. To top off excellent service facilities and food are the Stunning Staff from Cleaners, Reception, Restaurant, Kitchen and Management. The fantastic aray of kindness, cherry smiling and bright personalities made our stay a pleasure and we've stayed in 5 star rated hotels all over the world. It is the people who make a mark and Trailway Hotel Nelson shows us New Zealand, Kiwi bliss and a home away from home experience. Thank you Trailways 

Room Tip: We picked a studio room. Very spacious. Tidy with spa bath great to relax into after an adventurous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for such a glowing review! I am delighted that all our staff went the extra mile to make your stay so enjoyable, as this is something we really pride ourselves on. I agree that people make a hotel special, so I will pass on your lovely comments to all the team to let them know how well they have done.

I love your midnight birthday cake idea and I'm sure your wife did too.

I do hope you will stay with us again when you next visit Nelson - we would love to see you again.

Kind regards
Sara and all the team at Trailways Hotel Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
684 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
154 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.5 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailways Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £58 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes' walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing