We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel located near the heart of Nelson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel located near the heart of Nelson”
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Great hotel with regards to cleanliness, comfort and location. Trailways is located just off of the main street - within a short walking distance to all of the towns restaurants and bars. While Nelson is located about an hour away from Abel Tasman National Park, most wine tours, kayaking companies and hiking companies will pick you up from a stop near the hotel.

The rooms are clean and spacious. Free wi-fi is available in the main lobby if you have your own computer. Guest laundry is also available. The restaurant serves a wide variety of meals for dinner with a great breakfast buffet selection. The bar area is located outside near the river, offering good views of the town.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    195
    54
    12
    7
See reviews for
46
239
34
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
135 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Excellent, well-appointed hotel - with excellent food, both dinner and breakfast. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKMALETRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The hotel was very nice. We had a room facing out to the ocean inlet. Flat-screen TV, lots of closet space. The internet is a little pricey but overall the room was good. My favorite part about our room was the heated floor in the bathroom. So nice to not step on a freezing tile floor. Not far from the ocean. The location was nice for us because it wasn't in the middle of town so we didn't have to deal with any morning traffic when we left in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photogirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I stayed here for a couple of nights after attending a conference at a different hotel. I found the rooms here to be really nicely decorated, and I particularly enjoyed the spa bath! I had a room with a balcony overlooking the river, and when the water was in this made for a beautiful outlook - really tranquil. The only real minus was that the walls seemed quite thin, (I could hear someone yawn in the room nextdoor). The hotel however has a notice up in the hallway asking for quiet in this area (which I thought was a good idea). Staff were very friendly, smiley and helpful (as is everyone in Nelson really!)
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarnsdubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I have been to several motels in nelson that claim to be either best rated or new or great service etc etc, but Trailways wins my vote for the best place to stay in nelson, PROVIDED you take a suite room, a one or preferably 2 bedroom one

i had a 2 bedroom suite while some colleagues had a the double and twins which were a bit outdated, ill-equipped and small toilets

nevertheless, the service and staff were excellent, especially rochelle and jane at the front desk
when i left, one of the housekeeping men actially offered to help carry my bags, which is very rare in a country like new zealand, who have no idea what service is about

the balcony of the 2-bed suite was really large, and the kitchen was very good, with dishwasher

overall a very good 3 night stay !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin11967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State of washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2010

This hotel was very nice, quiet and right up the street from town. We were very pleased with it.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

My partner and I found this hotel online, from the website it looked great and for what we thought we would be getting, prices seemed reasonable and the view looked great. We are a young couple and were treated like dirt. We are polite, courteous and we have a fair amount of disposable income; but because we were not older or blatantly rich, we basically did not exist. This was most apparent at the dinner we had at the restaurant on the second night of our stay. Room was small, "double" spa was VERY small, furniture and layout was nice but definately overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danni2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailways Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Property: Trailways Hotel Nelson
Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre, and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing