We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average accomodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Nelson by Accents
Ranked #20 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Reviewed 28 January 2014

After 2 weeks around New Zealand, twin room we got here was the most expensive one, as well as the smallest one we got from all the hostels we have been. Front staff is good, helping with all they can and very kind.
Nice and great kitchen spaces ( in fact 2 kitchens) as well and tv and living rooms area, with great facilites such a table tennis (great to know more travelling fellas).
Superb location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for YHA Nelson by Accents
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

This is a great little hostel right in the centre of town. Immaculately clean, pretty quiet and awesome hot showers, I'd highly recommend this budget hostel. The staff were also friendly and helpful and it's great being able to easily walk into the centre of town

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank la8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed twice for a total of three nights recently.
Had one night in a five bed dorm room and two nights in double bedded rooms.

The dorm room was small and a bit pokey for five people.

Staff on the reception desk were efficient but not overly friendly (HR needs to help staff improve their interpersonal skills!!!)

Room Tip: If you can stretch to it, go for a double or a triple room for a peaceful night.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaestheticD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

YHA is very central, and staff are welcoming and helpful. BUT if you want a good night's sleep, don't stay here. The bedding feels cheap and well worn, beds are not that comfortable, and the rooms are noisy. You can hear your neighbours next door and people on the street and the bathroom/toilet doors open and close all night and squeak and bang,

There does not seem to be any expectation of no loud noise in the corridor after 11.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarndra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

very central to town, with friendly and helpful staff, stored our luggage, booked our airport shuttle and gave us a map to find our way back after a night on the town, the hotel has two good sized and well equipped kitchens plus an outdoor eating area which was a nice quiet place to eat porridge and read the newspaper in the morning

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A no fuss hostel, it's just what we wanted for a one night's stay. Like many chain hostels it feels a little impersonal, but makes up for it with spacious common areas, a big kitchen and lots of information brochures and posters with helpful tips on what to see and do in the area. The furniture is a bit dated, but otherwise it was clean and comfy. Location is good, just a short walk from a supermarket and the town centre. 16 hours free Wifi if you're a YHA member, if not you will have to pay for it. The walls was quite sound proof so we slept well. Something we really appreciate with the YHA is that you're welcome to use the common areas after check out, so there was no need for us to rush out without having breakfast first. Good place for a short stay in Nelson!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korimako_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Very central hostel, clean and quiet. Perfect for some rest before and/or after visiting the Abel Tasman national park and hiking-kayaking! Nelson is a lovely city and so are the locals and the staff at YHA Nelson!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Jonadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.3 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
0.6 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 42 in Nelson
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Nelson by Accents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Nelson by Accents

Address: 59 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: £13 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Nelson by Accents 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linda and Royce who ran the famous Accents on the Park Backpackers for a decade are now proud to welcome travellers to their new hostel in Nelson. Qualmark rated 5 Star and located right in the middle of NZ's sunniest city, YHA by Accents brings travellers home-style hospitality and great facilities all right next to Nelson's famous Saturday Market and walking distance to all the best cafes and restaurants in town. Use YHA by Accents as a convenient base to access 5 National Parks including the Abel Tasman, Kahurangi and Nelson Lakes. Our spacious kitchen facilities provide you with everything you need including a sunny BBQ courtyard and garden. There is Secure (internal) Bike Storage, a Piano, Foosball, table tennis and huge (Free) DVD collection. Of course we have great internet access too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your YHA Nelson by Accents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing