We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YHA Nelson by Accents
Nearby Hotels
Warwick House(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutique Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rutherford Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greens Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
50
57
25
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
57
25
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenair hockeyfemale dormbudget accommodationdouble ensuitethe staff was friendly and helpfulpower outletscommunal areassaturday marketgreat kitchenfree wifiprivate roomcentral locationbeds were comfortablewould stay againstayed one nightlocation is great
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

My personal number one yha hostel in new zealand.
Very comfortable. Perfect Central location. Always friendly and helpful staff.
Very clean!!!
I stayed there for more than six weeks.
A realy nice place to stay!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Sven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The receptionist was abrupt and rude. Put me off immediately. I thought i had reserved a room with a private, but she said they were all booked up. Then both my daughter and I awoke with many bed bug bites....even though we were there on Feb 19, 2014, our bites are still itchy and huge. The hostel was the worse hostel I have ever stayed at. The only saving grace was a gentlemen who worked the front desk. I HIGHLY recommend NO ONE to stay there!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otter94037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

I have gone through the room of your stay, as well as the rest of the hostel, and have confirmed that we are bedbug-free.

Bedbugs are the best backpackers in the world and tend to travel with guests, so ours is a constant challenge of identifying when they've turned up and making sure the problem is resolved as soon as possible.

We are very proactive with the prevention and treatment (when found) of bedbugs and our staff are trained to recognise the signs of bedbugs during the daily cleaning. We also do not allow guests to use sleeping bags in any YHA hostels, as sleeping bags can carry bedbugs. It is also helpful when we are immediately made aware of any possibility of bedbugs so we can deal with any potential problem as soon as possible.

I see you booked your room on the Hostelling International website. That website is undergoing a major revamp and we'll make sure the room descriptions are phrased clearly to prevent misunderstandings when that revamp goes live.


Sean Gidall
Manager, YHA Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

After 2 weeks around New Zealand, twin room we got here was the most expensive one, as well as the smallest one we got from all the hostels we have been. Front staff is good, helping with all they can and very kind.
Nice and great kitchen spaces ( in fact 2 kitchens) as well and tv and living rooms area, with great facilites such a table tennis (great to know more travelling fellas).
Superb location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

This is a great little hostel right in the centre of town. Immaculately clean, pretty quiet and awesome hot showers, I'd highly recommend this budget hostel. The staff were also friendly and helpful and it's great being able to easily walk into the centre of town

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank la8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed twice for a total of three nights recently.
Had one night in a five bed dorm room and two nights in double bedded rooms.

The dorm room was small and a bit pokey for five people.

Staff on the reception desk were efficient but not overly friendly (HR needs to help staff improve their interpersonal skills!!!)

Room Tip: If you can stretch to it, go for a double or a triple room for a peaceful night.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaestheticD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews