We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Nelson by Accents
Ranked #19 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Our double room was a bit small and bland but that's not really an issue. The kitchen was a good size and the communal areas have a lot of seating, table tennis, and a piano. No issues with the bathrooms. The staff were nice & friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie-a-r-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

this was the best yha i have stayed in nz. the areas are very clean. equipment in kitchen are well maintained n clean. plus lots of herbs are avialable for free.

the staff is wonderful n very helpful. toilets were clean all the time showers had hot water n good pressure.
beds were comfy ..
in short the stay was very good!!

keep it up yha nelson.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Kaustubh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I arrived in Nelson with a friend for a wedding, and we were immediately set at ease by Kumi and her staff at Nelson YHA. The facilities were very clean, modern, fresh and inviting; the friendly atmosphere and the friendly and helpful attitude of the staff made for a great place to rest, relax and hang out; and the activities on offer were not only exciting, but so easy to organise. We had a wonderful stay, and would recommend the Nelson YHA to anyone wishing to have a restful, clean, safe and relaxed base to explore the town from. Thanks Kumi!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I shared a room with three friends on two separate nights and have no complaints whatsoever.
The service was helpful and friendly and I was not too cramped in our room. The kitchen facilities were more than adequate and I liked the roomy dining area where just the four of us could comfortably sit at a table together. The bathroom was fine and there was no noise.
Our bus stop was immediately outside and there is a supermarket not far away.YHA Nelson has a higher standard than other backpackers I have stayed at and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for your great review. We we work to achieve the highest standard for our guests. It's nice to hear that our efforts are appreciated!

Sean Gidall
Manager, YHA Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

In overall, it was acceptable for my stay as the staff was friendly and helpful, the kitchen was big and well equipped. Its location was perfect, just few steps from the city centre, Intercity bus depot and around 10 minutes from Nakedbus station. The bathroom was clean.
However, my room was windowless and quite hot. As someone has written on TripAdvisor, the bed bugs were available! I have got flea-bites, that's why I doubt on the "5-star accommodation" claim of this hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiet Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANZ, Owner at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and for your positive comments. And thank you also for contacting us directly to let us know which room you stayed in.

We’ve gone back into that room and have had a thorough look at the room, the beds and all the bedding and have determined the room is bug free. Although there is no evidence of bedbugs or any other bugs in the room, we have treated the room anyway to be absolutely sure. As we’ve stated in a past TripAdvisor response, we are very proactive with the prevention and treatment (when found) of bedbugs and our staff are trained to recognise the signs of bedbugs during the daily cleaning. We also do not allow guests to use sleeping bags in any YHA hostels, as sleeping bags can carry bedbugs. It is also helpful when we are immediately made aware of any possibility of bedbugs so we can deal with any potential problem as soon as possible.

When you contacted us directly, you mentioned the bites you received were on your legs. This suggests that the bites are likely sandfly or mosquito bites, although I would need to see them to be certain. Both sandflies and mosquitos are quite common this time of year.

Sean Gidall
Manager, YHA Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

My personal number one yha hostel in new zealand.
Very comfortable. Perfect Central location. Always friendly and helpful staff.
Very clean!!!
I stayed there for more than six weeks.
A realy nice place to stay!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Sven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The receptionist was abrupt and rude. Put me off immediately. I thought i had reserved a room with a private, but she said they were all booked up. Then both my daughter and I awoke with many bed bug bites....even though we were there on Feb 19, 2014, our bites are still itchy and huge. The hostel was the worse hostel I have ever stayed at. The only saving grace was a gentlemen who worked the front desk. I HIGHLY recommend NO ONE to stay there!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otter94037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

I have gone through the room of your stay, as well as the rest of the hostel, and have confirmed that we are bedbug-free.

Bedbugs are the best backpackers in the world and tend to travel with guests, so ours is a constant challenge of identifying when they've turned up and making sure the problem is resolved as soon as possible.

We are very proactive with the prevention and treatment (when found) of bedbugs and our staff are trained to recognise the signs of bedbugs during the daily cleaning. We also do not allow guests to use sleeping bags in any YHA hostels, as sleeping bags can carry bedbugs. It is also helpful when we are immediately made aware of any possibility of bedbugs so we can deal with any potential problem as soon as possible.

I see you booked your room on the Hostelling International website. That website is undergoing a major revamp and we'll make sure the room descriptions are phrased clearly to prevent misunderstandings when that revamp goes live.


Sean Gidall
Manager, YHA Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.6 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#3 of 45 in Nelson
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Backpackers
Aurora Backpackers
#35 of 45 in Nelson
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Prince Albert Backpackers
1.9 mi away
Apex Motor Lodge
Apex Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tahunanui
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Nelson by Accents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Nelson by Accents

Address: 59 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: £14 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Nelson by Accents 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linda and Royce who ran the famous Accents on the Park Backpackers for a decade are now proud to welcome travellers to their new hostel in Nelson. Qualmark rated 5 Star and located right in the middle of NZ's sunniest city, YHA Nelson by Accents brings travellers home-style hospitality and great facilities all right next to Nelson's famous Saturday Market and walking distance to all the best cafes and restaurants in town. We act as a convenient base to access 5 National Parks including the Abel Tasman, Kahurangi and Nelson Lakes. Our spacious kitchen facilities provide you with everything you need including a sunny BBQ courtyard and garden. There is secure internal bike storage, a piano, foosball, table tennis and huge free DVD collection. Of course we have great internet access too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your YHA Nelson by Accents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing