We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
53
57
25
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
57
25
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen female dorm budget accommodation air hockey staff were super friendly and helpful power outlets communal areas purpose built private room central location beds were comfortable location is great town centre abel tasman hostel facilities tv
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We stayed here for one night during easter, and due to the fact that the hostel was fully booked, reception and kitchen were quite busy. Parking was free, due to the public holiday (don't know if there's a free parking option during normal days). Location is good for the nice city center, waterfront is a 15 minute walk.
Our private ensuite was very convenient with lots of space, a large bathroom, a couch, a sink with some cups, plates etc. and coffee and tea making facilities, a large bed and television+dvd player. A small fridge would have made it completely perfect.

Unfortunately, a 'public' bathroom was located just next to our room,and walls are quite thin so we could hear everything. Another small disadvantage was that the windows in the room were located very high, so there's no opportunity to have a look outside and the room feels a little bit like a bunker.
The hostel is pretty big, so it can feel a little unpersonal, but that didn't botter us.

Receptionstaff was very helpful to make a booking for the watertaxi in Abel Tasman National Park.

For diner, try the Indian restaurant in the 'villa', it was the most delicous Indian food we ever had.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

This hostel was pretty nice and nicely located. Room was clean but cramped. Bathrooms were clean. Cons: 1) room smelled funky, 2) very noisy - both rude loud people in the common areas, and can hear all the doors slamming at 5:30 am when people leave.
On the plus side, the bed was a good one.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_and_Waldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

After travelling from Wellington and missing a transport connection we had an unexpected stay in Nelson. We rolled into the YHA reception in the evening and nothing was too much trouble. After sharing our story with the staff member we were checked in swiftly and she even booked our departing bus ticket ex Nelson for us in the same transaction. She also let us know that the markets would be on the following morning, and were worth checking out, so encouraged us to stay in Nelson for the day and catch a bus early evening instead.

We were so glad we did this because Nelson was a charming little town. We had a great dinner at a local pizza parlour, stocked up on locally made items at the markets the following day and had coffee at Lambretta's.

The rooms were basic but very clean. As were all the facilities in the hostel - the kitchen was spotless, with a free food shelf too, the dining area was tidy, and the lounge area was peaceful, with an adjoining dark and closed off movie room. We loved the hostel cat too, he was gorgeous.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grrlfrommars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

This is a quiet, clean, and modern hostel in a great location in Central Nelson. We could not ask for more. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JeffCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royce L, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews