We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find at the last minute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachcomber Motor Inn
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Bad weather damaged our tent and so we retreated to Nelson and struggled to find a vacancy anywhere. Beachcomber was the first place we found, and we got their last two rooms - Lucky! They were clean, well equipped, and very comfortable, and in fact we decided to stay an extra night. Management were more than happy to reorganize after our first night so that our two rooms were inter-connecting. Well situated for beach, eateries - there was even an ice-rink set up on the reserve opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaiteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

I was a walk in customer looking for somewhere under $100 for the night. Was very pleased with the upstairs room with the spa jets in the bath. A spacious room with a balcony, this place had a relaxed feel and was very quiet. Had a very relaxing stay here and would have been comfortable staying longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I stayed here for a conference and found the place was better than it looked on the internet.
The Location is great 5 minutes walk to the beach, and play ground, a 3minute walk to KFC, a Pizza place called The Hot Rocks Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar, Café, and Thai Restaurant.
Across the road from MacDonalds and a service station, and beside a Bar and Restaurant. Also 2 liquor stores.
A 5min drive to the Airport
The place was still quiet, some of the rooms had a king and a single bed in which made it feel smaller .
I just had a king size bed with a small table and 2 chairs.
The unit were well equipped, with a toaster and a kettle, a Min bar, electric blankets a wall heater and an air con unit as well.
The shower promised more than it delivered a big shower head but no water pressure, so if you are washing your hair allow another 10mins to get the shampoo out. Also there was no full length mirror, just one in the bathroom, above the basin.
http://www.beachcomber.co.nz

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Still49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed at Beachcomber for a Saturday night. I stayed in a downstairs studio unit that was small but not tiny. It would be good for a couple. It was very well equiped with quality fittings and an excellent bed and linen. The staff were friendly and helpful - ask how to operate the heater as it is complicated.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Clean, fairly quiet considering surrounded by bars. Nice area, big park out front, near beach. Very accessible to airport and down town. Rooms a little tired.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zipstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Beachcomber for one night, while in Nelson for a special occasion in September 2010. We had booked a Superior unit using the Entertainment Card discount. We had been looking forward to using the spa bath, and had even bought a celebratory bottle of champagne, and some fancy nibbles to have while using it. On arrival however, it seems we were checked into a Standard room (without a spa bath), which we were really disappointed about. Considering we were just about the only people staying in the whole place, there didn't seem to be any reason for our downgrade. Unfortunately I didn't have the print-out that confirmed our stay for Superior room (I had left this behind in error, not imagining that we would need it), and the Beachcomber didn't honour our booking.

While the location is close to the beach, very few rooms would have an actual view of the beach area. At least half the rooms look out onto the next door restaurant or carpark, even from the second level. The rooms are OK - not overly modern, but refurbished at some point reasonably recently. The bathroom needed a spruce up, but the rooms were a fairly decent size. It looked as if further refurbishment may have been underway when we stayed there.

The location was fine if you want to stay near the beach, as it's very close. There are several shops and restaurants nearby. The city is about a 5 - 10 minute drive away, and there is plenty of parking. Public transport into the city however is minimal. Walking to the city would probably take about 45 minutes or so. The beach is about a two minute walk away from the complex. I think I recall seeing a lift, so even the second level would be OK for elderly people. I didn't see a pool or anything other amenities though, but having tea and coffee-making facilities in the room was helpful. The TV's in the room are tiny, and hidden in this big cabinet - you pretty much have to be sitting on the bed to watch it.

Overall, the room was reasonable, and would suit almost anyone who wants to stay near the beach. We wouldn't have paid the full room rate for it though, as it's just not that special. Disappointed with the TV size, the lack of a view, and most of all, not being placed in a room with a spa bath, as booked. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamBagpipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

Good place to stay in Nelson after spending a day in Abel Tasman. Hotel was easy to find and rooms were nice and clean.

Location was good and walking distance to restaurants. Good value hotel for location.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lshirai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#17 of 41 in Nelson
95 reviews
1.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
2.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#13 of 41 in Nelson
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloha Lodge
Aloha Lodge
#11 of 41 in Nelson
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arcadia Motel
Arcadia Motel
#12 of 41 in Nelson
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motor Inn

Address: 23 Beach Road, Nelson 7011, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Beachcomber)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £60 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beachcomber Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing