We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beachcomber Motor Inn
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed for only one night but did enjoy a comfortable night. After a slight hick-up being given the wrong type of room, the one we settled into was good value for the $99 we paid. This was very reasonable over the festive period. Great pool that sees the sunshine till late afternoon. " mins walk from a lovely golden beech. The room accompanied with a fair sized balcony was spacious and clean. Bed was comfortable and the jacuzzi bath was a great addition to the room. The town centre is only a short 10mins drive away and has a good selection of bars, shops and restaurants. Would be happy to stay at the beachcomber again!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 351maverick50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed here for three nights whilst exploring the area and found the place to be excellent. Although between two roads with McDonalds and a gas station at one end, there was not any traffic noise to speak of and we were in an end room. The beach is a couple of minutes walk away and there several eateries of varying type nearby. The room itself is what pleased us though. Very large, it had only just been refurbished (other nearby rooms were still undergoing this process) and offered a dining table and chairs; a sitting area with coffee table and TV; a kitchenette; a bathroom with jacuzzi; and of course the bed - very comfortable.
We'll definitely stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

On business in the city, Beachcomber is very relaxing, clean, large, modern room ( my upstairs unit was) was well laid out. Only negative was a microwave would have been nice as cutlery was in unit. Restaurants walking distance as is beach, will look at Beachcomber for next summer with the family. Rooms are very quiet even during a local storm of thunder.

Room Tip: I love staying in upstairs units so can only recommend these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boney22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay over Easter weekend. Staff were so accommodating and friendly, making our stay with a baby hassle free and enjoyable. Our room was large and we could set up a portacot easily. The bed was comfy and the room was very clean. Great access to beach and wonderful facilities including tennis courts, hydro slides, go carts etc. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nztravelleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed one night. Decor was very tired and required updating, Stains on mattress (coffee?)
Needs quite a lot of general maintenance ie ranchslider door lock was a broom handle. Bathroom tatty. Handy location. .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardgourtarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We choose the Beachcomber for its location and excellent room rate. The room was clean, well equipped and comfortable. The heated salt swimming pool was a great place to chill out after a good days shopping, This hotel is within easy walking distance to the beach, parks, and at least a dozen restaurants, also close to the airport, city centre and Richmond by car. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing, venue to get away for a relaxing weekend and the Beachcomber ticked all the boxes! Only downside was the gym was out of order and unfortunately the restaurant was only open for breakfast, so we ate out at the various restaurants close by. We would definitely stay again, great value if your on a budget!

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs room, on the north side and we had no trouble with road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenP132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This place has everything going for it. The location, walking distance to the beach. Handy to the City and the Airport. Excellent room rate, I paid under $100.00 per night. Friendly helpful staff. Clean spacious rooms. Sunny. Oh yes, there was one complaint though. The shower pressure is very low, almost a trickle, but having said that I would still go back for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welingtonanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#18 of 41 in Nelson
95 reviews
1.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
2.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#13 of 41 in Nelson
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloha Lodge
Aloha Lodge
#11 of 41 in Nelson
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arcadia Motel
Arcadia Motel
#12 of 41 in Nelson
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motor Inn

Address: 23 Beach Road, Nelson 7011, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Beachcomber)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £59 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachcomber Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing