We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Ranked #3 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My two daughters and I stayed for two nights in the Captains Quarter's and didn't want to go out as the view was so amazing and we felt so at home and relaxed The weather was not the best but we didn't really care. Hopefully one day we can return and spend more time there. Penny, North Vancouver, BC Canada

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

Had the great fortune to select this property for 3 nights via internet searching. The accommodation was simply the best we have ever had in our many travels! The total accommodation consists of about 5 different options on the side of the hill, all facing north. The views are just the best, both from the huge panoramic windows and your own private outdoor setting.

We stayed in the Charthouse Upper Deck. Everything about this place is Top Class. Rooms are huge, perfectly appointed and presented. We made use of the individual Bar-B-Q each night and the perfect weather just made this stay the highlight of our 2012 New Zealand trip. It was the most expensive accommodation of our stay but worth every cent. We will travel to Nelson again in the future just to stay here!!

Room Tip: Book early to secure your accommodation preference here as it is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whakatipu2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

breath taking a piece of heaven., wow there are no words to describe how beautiful this place was! We were welcomed by the owner who's character was very laid back and welcoming.
My husban and I were celerbrating our anniversary and there was no better place to enjoy it but here at the Wheelhouse Inn. Beautifully laid out, very private inside and out! Private deck with amazing views of ocean and native bush. Very clean inside, accommodating and relaxing facilities.... our stay was 2night and wish we stayed a little longer.
Fabolous .....................
Whiona & Alex Newport (Kapiti Coast)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Crow's Nest and only wished it could have been more. The view is so amazing that we spent our afternoons and evenings at the apartment, rather than going into town. It was very private with our own large deck and BBQ, not to mention a comfortable lounge. The kitchen was very well equipped and we had full laundry facilities. Yes, you have to drive into town, but we knew that when we booked and it really was not a problem - it's an easy 5/10 min drive and not difficult to park. Don't miss this place. It is excellent value for money. We also found the owner very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank normacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed here because someone we knew recommended it and it turned out to be one of the best places we stayed in our three weeks on the south island. We stayed in the Crows Nest and thoroughly enjoyed the peacefulness, THE VIEW, being separate from other people and not having to worry about noise, and having our own deck with a BBQ. And waking up to the view was quite incredible (you couldn't not because there are no curtains upstairs). The hosts were very friendly and even gave us a bottle of sparkling to celebrate our honeymoon. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alberta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Nice place, we stayed in the crows nest. Great views from the bedroom. However place is high up so difficult to walk into town. No breakfast provided either. Owners were away when we arrived so can't comment on service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AashC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed in the Main House Deck and as everyone else has already noted the view is stunning from both the lovely lounge area and the deck outside where we spent a lot of time in the sunshine. Views aside this is also a very well furnished, well maintained and comfortable accomodation. We spent two nights here but could easily have spent a week, comprehensive information is provided on what to do and see around the area. That said - trying to get hold of the owner or manager for extra information on local tour options was impossible, happily enough it wasn't urgent! The property is a good 10 minute walk from the waterfront and 30 minutes walk from town so you need to be prepared to walk if you want to have a beer with your dinner (the Boat Shed Cafe is a fantastic restaurant and is probably the closest as well). All in all a cracking place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
684 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
154 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
3.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.5 mi away
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters

Address: 41 Whitby Road, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: £85 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular sea views, private, quiet bush setting. All day sun. Only minutes to Nelson city and the beach. Fully self-contained, fantastic outdoor area or deck with outdoor furniture and bbq. Spacious lounge/dining areas with TV,DVD,CD,stereo,FREE WIFI, washing machine and dryer and off-street parking. Within 1 1/2 hours to Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing