We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views but needs some updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Ranked #8 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing views but needs some updating”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is a great place to stay for a few days. It has a laid back feel and the owners have payed alot of attention to giving the Wheelhouse a special and well executed "boathouse" theme. The living and bedroom areas are spacious, suitable for both couples and small families. The views from the lounge and bedroom can only be described as glorious and there is no disputing that these views make the location and position world class. A couple of drawbacks....the basement bathroom is tired and does not appear to have the same boathouse features and charm which is a bit of a shame. Also, a few new electronics and a flatscreen tv would be a good addition. Overall though, this place is really excellent value for money and we would recommend it to our friends and family should they be visiting Nelson.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoutiquetravellerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    17
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
78
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. 1 night in the main deck and 1 night in the upper deck.

Service: Due to mistakes in the booking, we had to change rooms in our 2 days stay. However, the hosts offered to help us shift our stuffs down while we are out sightseeing. We didn't manage to see them when we came on the first day but the next morning they were at our doorstep to find out how everything's going. Ralph was really helpful and gave us ideas on what to do in Nelson/ Abel Tasman region.

Location: it is a few minutes drive away from the city centre. And it is also near some really nice restaurants and cafe. Both main deck and upper deck has really good views. What we found difficult was driving up the slope. The country we come from hardly had any steep slope so driving up was a bit of challenge but we managed to do it by ourselves anyway!

Rooms were clean. There is washing machine and dryer. Washing powder provided too. Each bed has electric blanket - good for cold night. Living room has a huge window giving us fantastic view. The kitchen is well equipped and clean.

Upper deck or main deck? Both are equally good! We could not decide which one we loved more.

The main deck has a balcony with BBQ pit. The upper deck has a outdoor grass area. Both have table and benches so that you can enjoy eating or chilling outside.

I will definitely return the next time!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luffygomomono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

On arrival, the first thing that hits you is the view. From the living space and the bedroom, the view is simply awesome.

What we loved was the fact that it also had a fully functioning kitchen - we were able to have a roast meal, something that we struggle with (especially the meat quality) in Singapore.

We only wish that we could stay here for longer. Much, much longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLLushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed in the Wheelhouse for two nights. The views are just as magnificent as the pictures on their website. We found the unit neat, and everything we needed was there. Due to its location high up on the hill in order to overlook the ocean, the unit is on three levels, and the stairs to the top level (bedroom) are fairly narrow. If you have problems with stairs, you had better find yourself some other place to stay. But if you have working knees (or more or less working, like mine) you'll love the views from The Wheelhouse. We just soaked in those views, and with this being our first port of call on a 3-week south island trip, it contributed to us setting very high expectations for the rest of our vacation. The rates were on the high side, but the quality of the house plus the views still make it value for money (in our opinion).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schalk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We would like to go back and stay for a week. Ralph (the owner) was extremely friendly and loaned us his bike to use. Even though we had one wet, miserable day and we were unable to visit the Abel Tasman NP there was plenty to do and staying in was pleasurable! The only minor negative was that we had 4 adults and the 2nd bedroom was more suitable for 2 children (beds were rather small). Also, if we had booked earlier we would have preferred the house with 2 bathrooms (well, that was our fault!!) We will definitely be back! Thank you for your kindness.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNACDCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The Wheelhouse exceeded our expectations. The property is located high on the hill with fantastic views. It is close to some good restaurants on water and is only a very short drive to town. We loved it and so did the kids. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

After getting over the irks of booking online for the nights we saw available and confirming with the owners or booking gotta say yeah pretty good.

Booked the upper deck room. So full kitchen, two bedrooms laundry free wifi and then a view that gives you a full sight of the bay out to the heads from both the bedroom and the living room. My girlfriend got teary because shes soft but it is very nice. Also was also a pair of field glasses for long distance stuff spotting.

The building and fitout is 2006 according to info. Floors are intelligently sited, and the nautical interior styling completes the intention of the place and the connection to the bay. Something that maybe Grand designs would say but this place is awesome nonetheless...

Happy we booked the upstairs floor without the deck as in winter deck wouldnt be fully enjoyed but in the warmer months it would be a priority





  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.3 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters

Property: The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Address: 41 Whitby Road, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular sea views, private, quiet bush setting. All day sun. Only minutes to Nelson city and the beach. Fully self-contained, fantastic outdoor area or deck with outdoor furniture and bbq. Spacious lounge/dining areas with TV,DVD,CD,stereo,FREE WIFI, washing machine and dryer and off-street parking. Within 1 1/2 hours to Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing