We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Ranked #8 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding view”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We spent a lovely weekend here. The house was fully equipped, spotlessly clean and had good wifi. What really makes this place outstanding is the view overlooking the water. Sunrise and sunset could both be enjoyed from bed looking out the huge windows.
This property isn't too good for anyone with reduced mobilty (bathroom is downstairs) and bed room is up very steep narrow stairs (although there is a toilet up there as well).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank striped_tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    17
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
78
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint James, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at the Crow's Nest for a few days and promised ourselves that we'd come back and stay longer.
Great views from the bedroom on the 2nd level and from the living room and the kitchen. It was extremely pleasant to sit on the balcony overlooking Tasman Bay, watching the boats out on the water.
The views and the peaceful setting are a major draw, but the accommodations also are worth it. The place was fully equipped with everything one needs for a longer stay and felt more like a home than a hotel. A great choice for the area.

Room Tip: The Crow's Nest felt like it would be the most private of the accommodations provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank queenstandingwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at the Wheelhouse Inn.

First, the house ; sublime interior design with a great theme with plenty of details, yet not overdone. Perfectly clean with everything you need, from the soap in the bathroom, cleaning aides in the kitchen to the extra pillows in the bedroom. It feels very cosy, yet very open with lots of natural lighting. Stunning first impression as you enter the house ; it makes staying in at home very easy!

Second, the view ; breathtaking. They even thought of providing you with binoculars! When you reach the bedroom you feel like you are in a postcard!

Third, the location ; very convenient. You are 5 minutes away by car from a Countdown grocery store and from the town center which has a movie theatre, an old church to visit and some restaurants. You also are nearby the WOW museum that you shouldn't miss.

Forth, the people ; Ralph, the owner, actually came by in the morning before we left, to meet us and check how everything is. He mentioned that he came by a couple of times since we arrived, we were however out.

In short. Amazing experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank irracenina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

typical kiwi hospitality, key in the door with a welcome note, fresh flowers and spotlessly clean accommodation.
its not hi tech or ultra modern. but immediately comfortable with lits of little touches which all add up to a great stay. the views are stunning, gardens well kept, the accommodation private. I hope to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billycoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed in the upper deck and this place is just beautiful. The views sunsets, sunrises, the modern furnishings, we throughly enjoyed our 1 night we had here. If we had more time we would have stayed alot onger. We will be back to stay at this beautiful spectular accomdation. Well worth it!!!!! Thanks so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed at the crowsnest which is the highest view of the property.lovely place for a couple .Upstairs bedroom is great ,no curtain but who wants to miss the view,
Downstairs is lovely lounge and kitchen with great deck for having a glass of local wine .a home away from home

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The slightly scary drive up the steep, narrow driveway was worth it. The property is set on one of the highest points in Nelson and the views from every room of the two bedroom apartment are absolutely breath-taking. The furnishings are modern and comfortable and there are unexpected extras like a great DVD library for the kids and binoculars to enjoy the view, which includes frequent aeroplanes flying past quite close, almost noislessly. The property isn't within walking distance if the the heart of Nelson (this wasn't a problem for us) but we enjoyed the bush surrounds.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.3 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters

Property: The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Address: 41 Whitby Road, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular sea views, private, quiet bush setting. All day sun. Only minutes to Nelson city and the beach. Fully self-contained, fantastic outdoor area or deck with outdoor furniture and bbq. Spacious lounge/dining areas with TV,DVD,CD,stereo,FREE WIFI, washing machine and dryer and off-street parking. Within 1 1/2 hours to Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing