We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place with stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Ranked #4 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Crow's Nest for two nights in December. The place was even better than the pictures on the website. It was nice and quiet with stunning views of the water. We made all of our meals in the great little kitchen and ate out on the deck. The main bedroom sits on the second floor with huge windows looking out over the water. The Crow's Nest was one of the highlights of our 2 1/2 week stay in New Zealand. The owners came down to say hello on our last day. They were very friendly and I would stay here again in a heartbeat. We wish we had booked a few more days at the Crow's Nest.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjraye35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2010

We absolutely loved this place. Views are incredible. Sun on balcony until late evening. Main bedroom stunning views. Kitchen really good. Balcony amazing. Drive up is steep and its a bit of a walking trek down hill. Bit too far out of town for easy access but do not be put off by that. This is one of the top places we stayed in throughout NZ.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1plato23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Wheel House Inn, 1 on either side of a 3 day hike through Abel Tasman Park. We spent 1 of those nights in the Crows Nest . The room is unique, very comfortable and the view amazing. We enjoyed sitting on the deck, sipping wine and soaking in the view. We also appreciated having a washer and dryer in the room.

Ralph was a very accomodating and helpful host and we enjoyed meeting him. Our kids also loved the accomodation and would have liked to stay longer.

A definite must stay if you are in Nelson.

Caroline, Ted, Matt and Erin - Canada

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, I decided to book at the Wheelhouse Inn.

We stayed in the Wheelhouse (the original and I believe oldest of the properties available for hire) -- one of multiple options available on the large property.

Ralph, the proprietor told us that the property was available at 1 pm -- however, seeing as though we were driving from Greymouth, we did not arrive until about 7 pm. Needless to say, as soon as we arrived at the Wheelhouse, I had wished we had either arrived earlier to enjoy our short time there, or, just had more time to stay later! The view in the afternoon was awesome! We immediately cracked open a bottle of wine, and put on some music -- I thought: if there was only a way to stop time right now!

Ralph came down and introduced himself, and we found out that the city we now live in (Long Beach) - was his home for many a year until he sailed the South Pacific and ended up in New Zealand some 30 years ago. I myself have grandiose dreams of doing that, Ralph is my inspiration to leave the mainland in search of a better place to live! We had a fun time chatting with him briefly as he is a very, very cool guy as I later found out (from all of his hobbies and travels, etc.)

The Wheelhouse (original) - is quite brilliant - three stories, in fact, the upstairs bedroom -- you will want to just sit there, take in the view, read a book, snuggle with your loved one, drink some wine, and simply enjoy one of the most unique places you'll probably ever stay. The second floor is a well appointed kitchen with living room and an extra bed. Downstairs is a washing machine and shower and toilet. I love all of the attention to detail Ralph and Sally have incorporated-- the place has so much soul (original charting maps of the Marquesas that they used when they sailed the South Pac -- very cool). Many an article in NZ newspapers and travel publications have been written about the Wheelhouse (you can see these posted in Ralph's work shop downstairs from the Wheelhouse).

I also had the chance to peek inside the Crow's Nest, another lodging option. It's very similar (nautical theme) to the Wheelhouse, except built a few years ago. Both are so unique (the original Wheelhouse has so much soul), but, I think it suffices to say that if you are staying in Nelson, and have a car, BOOK THE CROW'S NEST IMMEDIATELY. It will completely blow you away. Literally, it's incredible. Don't think twice, just do it. (I think this gets booked up heavily, so try way in advance.)

All in all, a really fantastic stay that went by far too fast.

We also got the chance to meet Ralph's mother, who coincidentally lives about 5 miles away from me in the states. We had a nice time chatting with her, as she was visiting for Christmas.

If you get the chance, go check out Ralph's hobby shop below the Wheelhouse. He makes ceramic? seagulls that can be purchased. I also enjoyed reading the articles about the wheelhouse and learning more about Ralph. He is one cool dude that has really made me think twice about what life is really about. His home, his setup, his whole deal down their in New Zealand is pretty awesome. Needless to say: I'm jealous!

A great option for accommodation in NZ. Also recommended is Hopgoods, a short 5 min drive into downtown Nelson.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

We stayed at the Crow's Nest. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the owners and told exactly when the sun would be setting. He mentioned that we shouldn't miss it. It was absolutely stunning. We sat out on our beautiful deck and watched the most spectacular and peaceful sunset ever.
Afterwards, we toured our new abode. We love the nautical theme decorations and really appreciated the extra touches, such as a pair of binoculars and a selection of CDs. I was really impressed with the book collection. I even found a book in German! Jawohl! I thought it was great to have a guest book there to sign and to read other peoples' entries. Honestly, it felt like you were connected in a special way with everyone who had stayed there.
The water pressure is excellent in the bathroom. We loved the bedroom and, of course, the view is astounding. We ate dinner at the Boat Shed which is a five minute drive away. I would highly recommend this restaurant! All in all, a great experience in Nelson!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puggirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

We stayed here in The Captains Quarters for 2 nights at the back end of 3 weeks in New Zealand.
Did lower North Island and West Coast of the South Island.
Would have been happy to have spent the entire trip here.
Comfortable, high quality well appointed & spacious holiday homes with superb views out over Tasman Bay, the harbor entrance & the mountains to the West.
With changeable spring weather the view was never static and easy to take in from the balcony and huge upstairs bedroom picture windows. We had Tuis & a 'resident' Black Bird right out front in the surrounding trees that frame the view.
The friendly hosts were available but never intrusive and have a gem of a location and outstanding holiday homes.
They are sailing enthusiasts and as you will see in one of the pictures, (shot on a cellphone), the apartment decor reflects this.
Very handy to the beach and Nelson City is 5 minutes by car.
If you are looking for affordable high quality accommodation in Nelson, you owe it to yourself to check out their website.
http://wheelhouse.nelson.co.nz/

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heisler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

It's hard to imagine any place more fabulous. Stunning ocean views while cozily ensconed in tasteful luxury. No kitsch or quicklty procurred decorations in evidence; only truly interesting items that have obviously come from the hosts years of connectedness with the sea. As an artist and professionally qualified designer, it as good as anything's ever gonna get in this world!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank captainahab_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
679 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#8 of 41 in Nelson
153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
492 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters

Address: 41 Whitby Road, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: £90 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular sea views, private, quiet bush setting. All day sun. Only minutes to Nelson city and the beach. Fully self-contained, fantastic outdoor area or deck with outdoor furniture and bbq. Spacious lounge/dining areas with TV,DVD,CD,stereo,FREE WIFI, washing machine and dryer and off-street parking. Within 1 1/2 hours to Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing