We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it for the view alone !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Ranked #8 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth it for the view alone !!”
Reviewed 12 June 2007

We stayed in the Captains Quarters in April 06 for 3 days and nights as part of our NZ tour.

The only downside is the climb up the driveway to the property but it is well worth it when you see the view over the bay from the wooden deck and from the "1st class" bedroom upstairs.

Very friendly owner, clean and aesthetically pleasing property.

It is a self catering property but value for money wise it was brilliant !

Out of the 13 properties we stayed in over 4 weeks, the C.Q. is in our top 3.

Hope to return some day and BUY the place !!!!!

  • Liked — View and hospitality of Owner
  • Disliked — "Heart attack" Hill driveway ;o)
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    17
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
78
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2006

My husband and I had an all-too-brief stay in Nelson Nov 06. We loved the Wheelhouse Inn. House was beautifully maintained and kept and the owners could not have been more pleasant. Perfect for a couple or small family, lovely views of the water and in a great location. We didn't want to leave!

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — No meals (self-catering facility)
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mbartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2006

We lover our stay here. It has amazing views, is really comfortable and is a great value. The owners are very helpful. I would especially recommend it if you have a car as it is a bit of a walk or a cab ride into town, but the views make it better than anything in town and it is very spacious.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank rataturium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lismore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2006

I found the website for the Wheelhouse Inn and Captains Quarters in Nelson, and booked it after reading reviews. The aforementioned accommodation was booked, but instead we were given "The Upper Deck". When we arrived, we were thrilled by everything;
*location-amongst gorgeous homes on the hillside overlooking Nelson harbour
*beautiful gardens
*two storey renovated home where we had the top section.
*Completely self contained and fabulous, still smelt new.
*180 degree views complimented by massive picture windows in every room
*Furnishings and fixtures superior in two bedrooms, kitchen and bathroom.
We found it hard to tear ourselves away from those views in the living room. The bottom floor, The Charthouse I think, was occupied, but we heard very little as it is well insulated and extremely private. The affable owner and wife live higher up on the hill but keep their distance, so you can pretend the property is yours alone! We stayed three days and appreciated the 11am checkout time.
Reasonable rates when compared to boring hotel rooms and good proximity to bayside restaurants and the city centre.

  • Liked — presentation, size, views, comfort and uniqueness
  • Disliked — nil
  • Tips/Secrets — bring your camera!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank timeofourlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibiscus Coast New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2006

My family and I stayed at the Captains Quarters in Nelson during the New Zealand summer January 2006. The property has a nautical theme, is beautiful presented, clean and tidy. It is close to the city of Nelson, which has great shopping, good tourist information and is located within 10 minutes of Nelson airport. The owners run a small pottery business next to the property with some great Seagulls to buy as a momento of your stay. We have recommended to many friends and people from overseas coming to visit New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gulf Harbour New Zealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.3 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters

Property: The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Address: 41 Whitby Road, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular sea views, private, quiet bush setting. All day sun. Only minutes to Nelson city and the beach. Fully self-contained, fantastic outdoor area or deck with outdoor furniture and bbq. Spacious lounge/dining areas with TV,DVD,CD,stereo,FREE WIFI, washing machine and dryer and off-street parking. Within 1 1/2 hours to Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing