We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful”
Review of Shelbourne Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shelbourne Villa
Ranked #8 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We wish we could have stayed at Shelbourne Villa and Nelson for longer than 1 day.

The property is beautiful with well appointed rooms and guest lounge. Located a pleasant 3-5 minute stroll from town.

Strongly recommend staying.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

Vand and Wayne certainly made us feel at home in their beautiful villa. Our room was large, with a sitting area, huge bathroom with towel warmer. They graciously let us use their washer and dryer which helped on our long trip. Breakfast was delicious and substancial. Would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Fantastic B&B located close to the centre of Nelson, only a few blocks away from restaurants, cafes and bars. The room was spacious, gorgeously presented (beauitiful hardwood floors) and very comfortable despite us booking the smallest room. Onsite parking too but there is plenty of off street parking available nearby if needed.

The breakfast was fantastic, my partner was easily satisfied with the continental breakfast however the cooked breakfast option was also a winner once he saw what was on offer. The hosts were friendly and helpful with short walk suggestions in the area.

Lovely start to our holiday, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YVNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The location was superb, the hosts welcoming and the room in excellent condition. The only slight caveat about the Garden Suite was that the garage door is right next to the room, so if/when people use it early in the morning... Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webofwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed three nights, very relaxing, short break. Room was very comfortable, and beautifully furnished. Breakfast plenty of continental choice with cooked breakfast offered. Easy walking distance to main shopping. Lots of outdoor, lounging choices for enjoying garden and sun. Will return !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0cken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Shelbourne Villa is the perfect place to stay in Nelson. The hosts were friendly, the food was good, our room was spacious and well appointed, and the location was good. We could easily walk to the city center for meals or shopping. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Nelson.

Room Tip: Our room was the first to the left upon entering. It was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseLynne1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent 3 nights here when returning to my wife's birthplace after an absence of some 40+ years.Based on our experience you can't go wrong here. The property is located very close (3-4 blocks) to the town's maiin street yet on a quiet side street with easy parking. Our room (first on left upon entering) was clean spacious and comfortable. We assumed it must be the best of the different room options, though our delightful hosts Val and Wayne told us there was one even nicer, We enjoyed a really nice cooked breakfast every morning with a lovely view over the town through the bay window. Complimentary help-yourself port or sherry in the living room in the afternoon/evening was a lovely touch! So was an enormous selection of tourist brochures..We can't think of any drawback to point out.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.3 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
691 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Te Puna Wai Lodge
#5 of 55 in Nelson
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
1.3 mi away
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelbourne Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelbourne Villa

Address: 21 Shelbourne Street | Central Nelson, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: £82 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shelbourne Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelbourne Villa is an ideal B&B accommodation option for visitors to New Zealand's Nelson City & the Abel Tasman Region. Independently rated by Qualmark as 5 star - you won't find a better combination of comfort, convenience of location and quality in Nelson City. Four guest suites, all with en-suite bathrooms and room to spread out - our Loft is the best room in town. Fabulous breakfasts. Quiet location only 5 minutes walk to down-town shopping, galleries and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shelbourne Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing