We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is highly recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Squires Pub & Cafe Ltd

Squires Pub & Cafe Ltd
Ranked #91 of 170 Restaurants in Nelson
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Triona & John run a very popular Cafe with Alcoholic beverages available. Open long hours, popular for locals, tourists, regulars, business meetings. Great Coffee, muffins, scones for morning tea, appitising menu for lunch & Dinner. Very popular for Bartercard members. Great atmosphere
Nelson
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food is highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Went with a group of 8 and as we had no booking and arrived as they were shutting the doors (8pm on a Sat night) they were accommodating and happy to serve us. Most of us had different meals and everyone was very happy with their meal. Food definitely above average - the butterfish was highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank krisnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    6
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lunch-time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

A welcoming, friendly atmosphere with an invitation to sit down for lunch.
This was followed by the Waitress asking what we would like to drink.
There was a good range of soft drinks, juices and hot drinks and a comprehensive Wine List by glass or bottle highlighting the Nelson Region's wines.
The food was well priced and the Board Menu clearly displayed the Pizza Menus with prices.
Decor was clean and fresh and cushions were provided for those who want them.
Restrooms are clean.
Squires is accessible from a back car-park or from the street
There is background music.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rugratNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Whitebait Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Every time we return home to NZ we seek out whitebait. Not to be disappointed, on a cold morning driving through Stoke we spotted the magic ‘Whitebait’ sign outside Squires, so decided to see if we could devour some for a late breakfast. At first the young lady behind the bar seemed confused as they only cooked it for the lunchtime menu, so, disappointed, we left to continue our futile search. However, shortly after we decided to return to Squires and order something else from the menu as we were still hungry and needed a coffee fix. Needless to say, we were thrilled when another lady – the owner/manager perhaps…came out and said she would cook us a whitebait fritter each. It was simply delicious. Husband happy, me happy, thanks folks you made our day!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SRMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“PRETTY AVERAGE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

lovely staff at this restaurant/bar and great beer and wine but was disappointed from the start when the squid arrived and it was undercooked.
I thought the menu looked amazing and chose the pork - slow cooked - and my friend had a steak
The pork was really fatty and the pesto mash turned out to be a mix of veg squashed together no pesto in sight!! But the steak was perfectly cooked - bit of a shame really and would of liked to of had a bit more of an explanation about the meal from the waitress but she was rushed of her feet.
Unfortunately won't be returning as this is a local for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Motueka, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We could have eaten it all over again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Peter and I enjoy going into the Squires when ever we can. Whether it be for a delightful Cup of coffee with a homemade scone or muffin, or lunch. We check the specials then look at the menu. It depends on how we are feeling as to what wins, the menu changes at times to make it interesting for the regulars, but this day we couldn't resist the lambs fry and bacon on mash with a small side salad. Simply delicious. The management and staff never keep one waiting, The place is never empty be it a loner, a couple, a group or business meeting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Squires Pub & Cafe Ltd also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Squires Pub & Cafe Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing