We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wholemeal Cafe

Wholemeal Cafe
Ranked #12 of 22 Coffee & Tea in Nelson
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The coffee and food was so great we went there the first day of our visit and went there everyday after. We even bought take away to take with us on our journey.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dwjennings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
442 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Quirky setting!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We liked this cafe and ice creamery set in what was a cinema in days gone by. The colours are vibrant and crazy with a brazen theatrical touch and old movie posters and blowups of stars gone to heaven or hell add to the mix along with a grand piano on the mezzanine. There is a slight sense of faded glory but it adds to the charm. We also liked the food and generally good service. Well worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I bought both of your cookbooks!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

One word for this cafe!
DELICIOUS
We visit each year often on our annual holiday. It becomes our fav local.
The food is always perfect.
The salads are to die for.
The atmosphere and art and colour are amazing.

Coffee is always perfect and we are fussy!

Helpful?
Thank JohnandFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Fresh food and they had really everything one could want. If you walk away hungry that's your fault.
Great coffee, and pinwheels and the chicken pie was excellent so my friend tells me.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Siver67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We enjoyed the eclectic atmosphere in this little cafe. We decided to split the Farmers breakfast and so glad we did the split! Huge portion of bacon eggs sausages toast mushrooms and tomatoes with fried potato. It was so good (big too!) and kept us going for the day of hiking ahead. The coffee was delicious and happy that they could do my favorite, a soy latte! It is definitely a popular little place in Takaka and the line for ordering was a bit long but well worth the wait.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wholemeal Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Wholemeal Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing