We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Put on your fat pants and go there!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wholemeal Cafe

Wholemeal Cafe
Ranked #12 of 22 Coffee & Tea in Nelson
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Put on your fat pants and go there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This café/restaurant is a genuine experience. We visited twice during our trip to Takaka, once for ‘Curry Night’ and then again the next morning for breakfast. Curry night was a 7/10, the food was nice, there was good entertainment in the form by a talented man playing the piano on a balcony but it took a long time to arrive and we weren’t the only table looking antsy! The breakfast was a-mazing though, 10/10. Best bacon & banana pancakes I’ve ever had- and I mean ever! My partner’s meal was delicious too. It’s obviously the place to go, loads of locals eat there and there is a lot more on their menu that I would’ve tried if we’d stayed longer. Put on your fat pants and go there!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jt411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The coffee and food was so great we went there the first day of our visit and went there everyday after. We even bought take away to take with us on our journey.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dwjennings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
443 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Quirky setting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We liked this cafe and ice creamery set in what was a cinema in days gone by. The colours are vibrant and crazy with a brazen theatrical touch and old movie posters and blowups of stars gone to heaven or hell add to the mix along with a grand piano on the mezzanine. There is a slight sense of faded glory but it adds to the charm. We also liked the food and generally good service. Well worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I bought both of your cookbooks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

One word for this cafe!
DELICIOUS
We visit each year often on our annual holiday. It becomes our fav local.
The food is always perfect.
The salads are to die for.
The atmosphere and art and colour are amazing.

Coffee is always perfect and we are fussy!

Helpful?
Thank JohnandFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Fresh food and they had really everything one could want. If you walk away hungry that's your fault.
Great coffee, and pinwheels and the chicken pie was excellent so my friend tells me.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Siver67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wholemeal Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Wholemeal Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing