We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great service, super clean, best hostel I've been in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Prince Albert Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great value, great service, super clean, best hostel I've been in!”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

The owners of this place are super lovely and super helpful. I was a bit worried when I saw this place from the outside because it looked like a typical, potentiAlly grubby pub. As soon as you walk in though you can see the place has been completely renovated and updated, the rooms and washrooms are all freshly painted and super clean. There's a bar but it's in a separate section of the building so it won't keep you up at night! Great beer, free bike hire, free brekkie, great value! You will most definitely not regret staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lia_p_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    29
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
40
57
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

what a remarkable experience Mike and Nani fantastic hosts nothing was too much trouble.It was a great place to base ourselves to enjoy some of the excellent walking and riding tracks all levels from easy to very testing.We met a wide range of people locals and travellers.The little bar was a great place to come back to at the end of the day for a nice relaxing drink.My friend and I are in our 60,s and had no trouble fitting in.Would highly recommend to enyone wanting to explore Nelson and surrounding area.Could not fault it everyone on staff worked hard to make our experience memorable.

Room Tip: we had a twin share with ensuite there was a small amount of noise at night but not enough to annoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Pros:
- Really enthusiastic and friendly greeting after a long drive. Fully shown around and everything explained.
- Free Internet. Only backpackers I went to with free internet. No annoying codes to buy and use.
- Free toast and waffles breakfast with instant coffee, tea, sugar and milk available. Waffles were fun (syrup as opposed to jam would make more sense to me though - but free, so no real complaints!). I think having a breakfast for everyone also creates a nice atmosphere where people can get to know each other.
- pub on-site with meal offers and discount for guests. Experienced no noise issues from pub.
- group activities for people to join in and suggested activities for the day.
- shower good and powerful
- nice outside communal area with hammocks and tables with umbrellas and inside communal area.
- lots of car parking space

Cons:
- about a 10 minute walk into the town
- bunk bed I had was a bit rickety (though not uncomfortable)
- not many easily accessible power points in the room.
- kitchen area quite small

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtwopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Really helpful & friendly staff - especially when we arrived after the whole place had closed for the night thanks to our delayed flight! Comfortable, good sized & clean rooms (stayed in an ensuite double), no bother from the pub in terms of late night noise disturbing sleep, even on St Paddy's day which was well celebrated, and tasty breakfast every morning. Cheers guys!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Superb little hostel in a quiet but convenient location in Nelson. Nice touch with the free breakfast waffles and $10 meals at the bar. Communal areas are spacious and inviting and ample kitchen facilities for all to enjoy. Free internet also. The young couple who run Prince Albert obviously have a passion for the place and it shows. Rooms are a bit basic but overall a fabulous find and I wouldn't hesitate to return

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinnielynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Arrived in Nelson sick of backpacking around and booked into the Prince Albert. It happened to be St Patrick's day! What a fantastic backpackers! Great people going above and beyond to offer an outstanding service to their customers. Rooms were spacious, modern and clean, staff SO friendly and nothing was too much to ask even when run off their feet. Loved the St Pats celebrations, clocks in the staircase and to have a breakfast of fresh made waffles was above and beyond but much appreciated!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Maybe the best hostel I've been to. Not so many rooms, but lots of space to relax and hangout, a garden, hammocks, big TV room, a computer with free internet use, free wifi, free breakfast... And the best is the owner guy, super friendly and eager to help organize activities without being pushy. The only downside was the room itself: directly above the restaurant garden and the window did not shut properly, so quite loud. Overall, great for a hostel.

Room Tip: the room above the restaurant is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank so_voyage49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#8 of 41 in Nelson
540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
146 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
669 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Albert Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Albert Backpackers

Property: The Prince Albert Backpackers
Address: 113 Nile Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Prince Albert Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince Albert Backpackers & Bar is centrally located in Nelson City. Our Heritage class building is located only minutes away from everything Nelson has to offer including mountain biking, hiking, natural swimming pools, arts and crafts and the famous Saturday Markets. The Prince Albert Backpackers and hostel provides today's travellers with the very best in modern facilities and accommodation including free unlimited WiFi and a free daily breakfast, while the locals bar and restaurant allows friendly interaction between the Nelsonites and the backpacker traveller.We have a range of rooms from 6 bed dorms, 4 bed share rooms, twins, and doubles. All of our rooms have en-suite facilities along with laundered and pressed linens and duvets. The backpackers uses a secure electronic keycard access system. Our guests also enjoy the exclusive use of a private sunny courtyard, private lounge, private kitchen and laundry facilities.Other facilities that you will find here at The Prince Albert Backpackers include a games room with Fussball, Darts, Ping Pong & Air Hockey, cruiser style bikes free of charge to explore Nelson and for the more adventurous individual we have quality mountain bikes for hire at the cheapest rate in town. With our free luggage storage you can also make The Prince Albert Backpackers your base-camp hostel to explore the 3 national parks within 1 1/2 hours from Nelson including the beautiful Abel Tasman and the alpine National Lakes.Factor in the discounts you will receive around town with our branded Prince Albert Backpackers wristband and we truly believe that once you have stayed with us you will seriously consider staying just that little bit longer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Prince Albert Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing