We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to stay longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Prince Albert Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wanted to stay longer!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I only stayed one night at Prince Alberts, and wish I booked more nights. The hostel is really nice, clean and comfortable. The rooms were really nice and had good bathrooms. Nice common areas, free wifi, great food/drink deals in the bar and a free, included breakfast with waffles! A home away from home, loved it.
Location is a bit far from the busstop, but the hostel can arrange pick-ups/drop offs if you let them know before. Great service!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteR1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    29
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
40
57
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed one night at Prince Alberts during my visit of Nelson. The owners (both the guy and the girl) were really nice in every possible way, true Kiwis. The room was clean and had a modern bathroom that was really clean as well. In fact, it was on the same level as most of motels and bnbs in which I've stayed. That's quite rare in hostels. There was also a meal available for 10$, that wasn't great, but good enough for its price. Wifi was free and worked in the room, but was slow. Overall, the price was really low for what I've got.

Room Tip: Definitely get an en suite room if you're a solo traveler
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The manager is really friendly and cute.
The WiFi is free.
No charge for the key (first time I see this in NZ).
Nice bar and the beer is cheap.
Breakfast included !!!!!!!!!!!
What else ?

Sweet as ! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grschtroumpf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
226 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Nelson is a city of backpacker hostels. They are all infested with wonderful 20-something backpackers. This is not really a great mix for a traveling family but the Prince Albert worked for us. The owner slipped away from their superbowl party to pick us up at the bus depot. The dorm room (paying for each bed) was around the price of a hotel but it came with free breakfast, wifi and best of all access to cruiser bikes (too big for kids under 12) for up to two hours. The clients change every night. Some times it really is noisy - some times it is really quiet. Hit or miss. Generally we found everyone to be resepectful. Our boys loved the games room - who dosen't like fuseball and ping-pong and they just put up a basket ball net.
The location is in a great. Lots of short, scenic walks. The Centre of New Zealand is a delightful ramble that should not be missed. The hostel is close (four blocks) to a supper market (seems closer on a bike.)
The only bummer was some no-goodnick went through our food box and stole all our expensive food. If you have maple syrup / olive oil you might want to keep it in your room.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesn't open on to the common area if you plan on sleeping before 10:30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I couldn't rate this place higher - it's so good! A group of us stayed at the Prince Albert over the weekend. The staff are so friendly and hospitable, the rooms are clean with lovely crisp linen, the breakfast is included, and the rates are very reasonable. I would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna5672014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The Prince Albert had literally everything you could hope for in a hostel! Competitive rates; clean, neat rooms with great showers; an amazing dinner deal in the attached restaurant; awesome drink specials; free bike rental; a beautiful patio; nightly social events; and friendly, welcoming staff. I spent 3 days biking Nelson from one end to the other and thoroughly enjoyed my 4 days at the Prince Albert! :) Thank you so much!

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms can get noisy when social events are on. Request an upstairs room if you need it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aeking3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I really only want a clean, tidy and safe room and I'm on a budget. After my regular accommodation was fully booked I booked via booking.com on the reviews and price. Well, what a wonderful welcome and then a tour. Very clean and tidy room with an ensuite. Obviously a bar that the locals visit. Upmarket bar, great 'deals', good security (card entry into the room) and excellent location. Free wifi. The only complaint - my room was by the outside stairs and overlooking the beer garden - thus smoke rose into my room, the outside door was against the beds wall and it was noisy until late at night. I will certainly book again but will ask for a room near the road instead. Very impressed and lots of happy people showed just how great this place is.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponymadaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#8 of 41 in Nelson
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 42 in Nelson
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Albert Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Albert Backpackers

Property: The Prince Albert Backpackers
Address: 113 Nile Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Prince Albert Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince Albert Backpackers & Bar is centrally located in Nelson City. Our Heritage class building is located only minutes away from everything Nelson has to offer including mountain biking, hiking, natural swimming pools, arts and crafts and the famous Saturday Markets. The Prince Albert Backpackers and hostel provides today's travellers with the very best in modern facilities and accommodation including free unlimited WiFi and a free daily breakfast, while the locals bar and restaurant allows friendly interaction between the Nelsonites and the backpacker traveller.We have a range of rooms from 6 bed dorms, 4 bed share rooms, twins, and doubles. All of our rooms have en-suite facilities along with laundered and pressed linens and duvets. The backpackers uses a secure electronic keycard access system. Our guests also enjoy the exclusive use of a private sunny courtyard, private lounge, private kitchen and laundry facilities.Other facilities that you will find here at The Prince Albert Backpackers include a games room with Fussball, Darts, Ping Pong & Air Hockey, cruiser style bikes free of charge to explore Nelson and for the more adventurous individual we have quality mountain bikes for hire at the cheapest rate in town. With our free luggage storage you can also make The Prince Albert Backpackers your base-camp hostel to explore the 3 national parks within 1 1/2 hours from Nelson including the beautiful Abel Tasman and the alpine National Lakes.Factor in the discounts you will receive around town with our branded Prince Albert Backpackers wristband and we truly believe that once you have stayed with us you will seriously consider staying just that little bit longer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Prince Albert Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing