We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Patch of Blissful Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Prince Albert Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“A Little Patch of Blissful Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I spent a little more than three months in NZ, and I spent about half of the time at the PA's (the hostel in question). This is not because I had no desire to see the rest of country nor because I had any special connection to the city of Nelson.

The Prince Albert's Backpackers and Bar is simply such a nice place to stay, that I felt like I became part of a family and a micro society.

The service is outstanding, the staff is bubbling and outgoing, the owners are beyond belief in kindness and fun, the pricing is "combative"/dirt cheap, and the hostel is for everyone; from families with children to everyday partygoers.

I wouldn't miss it for thing!

-Toph (frequent stayer, odd-place sleeper, part-time worker)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    29
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
39
57
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The whole experience at the Prince Albert was a pleasure representative of the welcoming and helpful attitude of the owner/operators. The premises are well thought out to cater for both the Backpackers and locals.. The food was of good quality at value prices.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonRGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed in a 4bed-dorm with ensuite bathroom which wasn't the cleanest and whenever someone took a shower the hole bathroom was flooded so bad that even the carpet in the room got effected and made the hole room smell mouldy...
the free wifi is restricted so that you cant visit all the pages or use all the apps on your phone because they are blocked.
the free breakfast is very unhealthy and point 9 o'clock the staff puts everything away- not to mention that its not possible to "enjoy" the breakfast becuase of missing cups and glasses and no service around to ask for help.
due to the bar included in this hostel its quite loud and going to bed before 12 or 1 in the morning is not a good idea!:(
its not a real bad place but definitely overestimated and not worth its award winning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraeule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I just can't love the Prince Albert more. They charge little but offer a lot, a lot. They got a restaurant& bar and a game room in the backpacker, how cool it is. Large room, tidy facilities, amazing free breakfast and dinner special make the trip more enjoyable. The most important thing is that staff here are so friendly and lovely. They made me feel welcome as soon as I walked in. I wish I could spend more time with them. Definitely the best backpacker!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Heaven Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I came to Nelson with no plan in mind and when I stayed at Prince Albert I didn't want to leave. Mike and Nanny (the owners) are very friendly. The place is well organize and take advantage of the weather of beautiful Nelson. The bar next door offer good beer and food at a reasonable price!
I strongly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 455travellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a double room!

Pros: friendly girl on check in, free wifi, free breakfast (toast, waffles and cereal), close enough to town.

Cons: the first night was pretty noisy (second night ok), the kitchen is tiny (in their defense they do offer $10 meal + dessert each night).

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmat7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Mike (the owner) at the Prince Albert backpackers goes the extra mile to keep his guests happy - nothing is too much trouble. Immaculately clean, comfortable communal areas, well organised, and a great friendly atmosphere to meet fellow travellers. A great pint of beer at good prices and the two course $10 evening meals are awesome value. Simply a fantastic place to stay - I fully and highly recommend The Prince Albert Backpackers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lomac-_-2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.6 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Albert Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Albert Backpackers

Property: The Prince Albert Backpackers
Address: 113 Nile Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Prince Albert Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince Albert Backpackers & Bar is centrally located in Nelson City. Our Heritage class building is located only minutes away from everything Nelson has to offer including mountain biking, hiking, natural swimming pools, arts and crafts and the famous Saturday Markets. The Prince Albert Backpackers and hostel provides today's travellers with the very best in modern facilities and accommodation including free unlimited WiFi and a free daily breakfast, while the locals bar and restaurant allows friendly interaction between the Nelsonites and the backpacker traveller.We have a range of rooms from 6 bed dorms, 4 bed share rooms, twins, and doubles. All of our rooms have en-suite facilities along with laundered and pressed linens and duvets. The backpackers uses a secure electronic keycard access system. Our guests also enjoy the exclusive use of a private sunny courtyard, private lounge, private kitchen and laundry facilities.Other facilities that you will find here at The Prince Albert Backpackers include a games room with Fussball, Darts, Ping Pong & Air Hockey, cruiser style bikes free of charge to explore Nelson and for the more adventurous individual we have quality mountain bikes for hire at the cheapest rate in town. With our free luggage storage you can also make The Prince Albert Backpackers your base-camp hostel to explore the 3 national parks within 1 1/2 hours from Nelson including the beautiful Abel Tasman and the alpine National Lakes.Factor in the discounts you will receive around town with our branded Prince Albert Backpackers wristband and we truly believe that once you have stayed with us you will seriously consider staying just that little bit longer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Prince Albert Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing