We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer, good concept”

Sprig and Fern Hardy St
Ranked #40 of 183 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: British, New Zealand, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Right at the heart of Nelson City CBD is the Hardy St Sprig and Fern Tavern. A full range of natural, locally brewed craft beers and regional wines are available to go with a mouth watering selection of pub food including traditional English pork pies. Regular live music at the weekends and quiz nights during the week. No TVs, pool tables or pokey machines and we are totally cycle friendly if you have been out on the great Nelson trails. If you are in Nelson and enjoy a friendly pub atmosphere and excellent beer you have to visit the Hardy St "Sprig".
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Have been to the sprig and Fern several times now, and it always gets it right. Good selection of beer and ciders, great place to hang out and relax, and it's good to see the menu growing. I will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Love the bar, food can be absolutely nasty. Should have learned, had inedible food there once before...and now again 6 months later. Never, ever again!
Both occasions I ate less than half & told bar staff about the problem, At no stage did they offer to refund my money, just offered more evil food..! I eat out in Nelson pretty much every day during the week - do yourself a favour, have lunch somewhere else.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 36Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LFP44, Owner at Sprig and Fern Hardy St, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

We are sorry to hear of your experience. Our pies are not bakery pies. We use short crust pastry and fill them with meat and veg rather than bulking them up with gravy. Gravy is however always available upon request. Ostrich while a big seller certainly doesn't suit everyone's palate. We would gladly have provided an alternate meal as offered but sadly cannot offer refunds for someone making a wrong choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

this is a really pleasant place to get great fresh beer, the quintessence of Nelson pub life, there was great live music and a cool vibe

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bggz7c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

With all the different locally brewed beer and trying most of them their porter came out the best. Friendly staff always making sure you are being taken care of.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Gangadharan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Great range of beers on tap, nice atmosphere and a good place to go for a cold one after a bike ride. (they have a bike rack outside - good thinking :)

Thank Bryson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sprig and Fern Hardy St also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Sprig and Fern Hardy St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing