We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sails Nelson
Nearby Hotels
Rutherford Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutique Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saxton Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greens Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trailways Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveller rating
655
72
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
655
72
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnespresso machinemattress toppermini barnew zealandcomfortable bedtrafalgar parkshort walkbeautiful roomsky tvsmall balconytown centregreat showerthe ground floorspa bathlittle thingsthe kitchenabel tasman
Filter
Updating list...
604 - 609 of 736 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

this is a relatively new establishment, the owner works the front desk and takes extreme care in orienting new guests at check ins including advice on dining and excursions etc. there is a charming motel cat. laundry available only 1 dollar for soap. the bed is super comfortable feather topper. kitchenette in the room with a dishwasher. TV had a lot more Channels than other New Zealand motels we stayed in. walking distance to all the best to eat and drink in Nelson easy to find off high way. would def stay again and I suggest you do, a tip, the lights are Eco friendly and you have to insert a room key into a switch by the door to turn on lights so they don't stay on while you are out

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bggz7c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us during your trip around the Nelson area. We have great pride in the layout and service that we give to all our guests from start to finish. We have tried to make the experience a memorable one of everyone Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review about your stay with us here at The Sails Nelson. Regards Max and Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in The Sails for two nights and were impressed by the extremely high quality of the whole place, more like an up-market hotel than a motel. The bathroom was beautiful and the kitchen very well equipped. Full Sky TV was available and the bed had a down mattress topper that gave it a luxurious feel. In comparison with other motels in NZ the room we had was quite small, especially if you are travelling with quite a bit of stuff, and there was no table, just a built in desk/bench which made breakfast in the room an unusual experience. The down mattress was rather wasted on me but they will remove it if you don't like it. The Internet service advertised 200MB per day but this disappeared in about 20 minutes of very light usage; we visited lots of places on the same trip offering similar or less Internet usage that we barely touched in 24 hours. Max was a very attentive and enthusiastic host and Nelson is a lively town; the Boatshed Restaurant gave us a memorable meal and is highly recommended for it's 'Trust the Chef' menu

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hello thank you for the review about your stay with us here at The Sails we are pleased that you found the room to be of a high quality and had everything that you needed. I wish you had of asked to store some of your extra luggage in our garage so that you didn't feel you were in a small suite, there's nothing worst than stepping over things all the time. The style of suite that you chose doesn't have a table but we do have tables in our larger Executive and One Bedroom apartments. We have the latest Sleepyhead beds so if you do remove the Feather topper form your bed you still will enjoy a fantastic sleep. Sometimes while on the internet your computer gets updates and this uses up some of the megabytes. We give out your vouchers freely so we would have happily given you more vouchers. We hope that make it back our way soon. Regards Max and Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

I cannot speak highly enough of the Sails Motel. I was not expecting such a gem of a place for the nightly rate. Luxurious bedding, Sky (cable) TV, little mini kitchenette plus huge shower. Just a gorgeous room and only an easy 5minute stroll into town for great coffee and food. Will definitely be back!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Little_Miss_Madam82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Hello Thank you so much for writing such a great review about you stay with us here at The Sails Nelson. We are pleased that you enjoyed the suite that you stayed in and found the facilities to be of a quality that enhanced the luxury feel. We are situated just far enough from the city centre not to be able to hear the city noise but with in walking distance as you said to enjoy the many great shops and restaurants. We look forward to you getting back to the Nelson region and staying with us soon. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We recently stayed for a week at The Sails Motel and absolutely loved it. Our apartment (209) was pure luxury, very clean, with a super comfortable bed and fully equipped with everything needed. The hosts Max and Robyn were very friendly and helpful and as an additional service it was possible to order a delicious breakfast. Free Wi-Fi was also an added bonus. The motel is situated close to the city centre and all shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance. It was a joy to stay there and we will certainly go back for another visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopprocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on your week with us here at The Sails in Nelson. We enjoyed our many talks over the week. Especially hearing about the progress of your new home your building. The apartment that you stayed in is situated on corner of the motel and the layout makes it feel so spacious. We look forward to meeting you both again soon and sorry we could not get you in on the dates that you required for your next trip. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at The Sails for the weekend and could not believe how great it was. The rooms were 5 star and the customer service from Max was top class. Nothing was a problem, he recommended restaurants and did the bookings for us. Was a short walk to town so didn't need to take car.The bed was so comfortable I wanted to take it home. We just had a studio room. The trip just needed to be longer. Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyV14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Hi Sandy Thanks for the fantastic review about your weekend with us here at The Sails Nelson.
We also love the walk into the city from the motel you are always looking at something different. We are pleased that you enjoyed your suite and the feather over lay on your bed. If you need a christmas present for yourself I could arrange Santa to drop one under your tree. They make for a real sense of luxury. I'm glad that you enjoyed the recommendations I made to you around the Nelson area. We look forward to having you with us again next time your up this way. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews