We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable bed I have EVER slept in”
Review of The Sails Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sails Nelson
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The sails is a lovely place to stay, in a quite corner of town. The room was spotless and the decor and amenities amazing. The bed was unforgettable, as others have said - like sleeping on a cloud. This may possibly have been the best nights sleep of my life! The staff are very welcoming and accommodating as well as knowledgable on things to do and see. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Hello Carol, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay with us at The Sails. We are so pleased that you found the suite spotless and so comfortable. Nelson has many wonderful enjoyable attractions so it's always nice to hear that we have help you find a few of them. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
There are newer reviews for The Sails Nelson
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

If your looking for luxury without the price tag, then this is it. The bedding was supremely superior with the feather underlay, what a treat. We travel extensively around the world in 4-5 star accommodations and this is right up there with them. Little details such as plush carpet under your feet, kitchen fully kitted out, to a scrumptious breakfast delivered to the door. Location ideal within minutes to everywhere we needed to go. Highly recommend this place, owners very helpful.

Room Tip: Its right off the main road, but it has double glazing so no noise
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mistyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Hello Thank you for your review about your stay with here at The Sails Nelson. We are pleased that you found us to be of equal quality to other overseas Motels you have experienced. We did get a lot of our ideas while traveling around Europe before we started the motel. But we also think a lot of our success comes from our pride in our service, the motel and of cause guest satisfaction. Thank you again for taking the time during this hectic festive season to write your review. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying here and would highly recommend to anyone. It is very modern and super comfortable. It has so many great amenities, I can't remember them all. Love the bed...like sleeping on a cloud. Love the tile shower and the bathrobes, the kitchenette, the big TV and all of the other conveniences. There is no fantastic view here, but Nelson is a great little town with good restaurants. It is spotlessly clean, too. When we told Robin we were going to Abel Tasman the next day but need to wash clothes, too, she insisted on washing them for us! She might not do this for everyone, but this made our lives so much easier and enabled us to enjoy Nelson when we returned. Thanks, too, for finding our camera in "the cloud"!! Breakfast was superb and we loved having it in our room so we could eat at our convenience and go. Max and Robin, You're the best!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank fountain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Hello there we were so please to be able to contact you with driving distance for you to be able to return to the Motel to collect you camera and more importantly your holiday shots. You were both such fun and we both really enjoyed your sense of humour. We are glad that you found your suite to be enjoyable and comfortable. Thank you for your fantastic review we really were sorry to see you go. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Absolutely the best accommodation in Nelson. Max and Robyn are excellent hosts, very friendly and helpful. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Great location too. We highly recommend The Sails!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your time with us here at The Sails Nelson. We are delighted that you found your suite to be so comfortable. We hope that you are able to make it back up this way again soon for another well deserved break.Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Our ferry from Wellington was late, so we arrived very late into this fantastic little motel in Nelson, and we had to leave fairly early the next morning. Too bad, because the room was truly impressive, with very posh furnishings and all the technology one could desire, from iPod dock to espresso machine. The staff waited for our late arrival, gave us good advice on where to find something to eat late at night, and were generally friendly and helpful. WiFi and parking were free. Definitely recommend, and wish we could have lounged around for another day or so.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14gailg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

We are so pleased to have been a spot of luxury after your hectic day with the Ferry being delayed and the drive from Picton to Nelson in the Dark. We also are sorry to of only had your company over night but I'm sure you enjoyed the rest of our wonderful country at a leisurely pace. Thank you for writing a wonderful review about the suite which you stayed in. We certainly wouldn't have let you arrive without a proper welcoming and some advise about the local restaurants. Regards Max and Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a new and very good spec accommodation within easy walking distance of the town and all it's attractions. Anyone visiting need look no further than this motel for a great nights stay. The Managing team Robyn and her Husband are very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: They are all very we'll equipped
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review about your experience with us here at The Sails Nelson. We are extremely proud of our service and the motel it self. We have added points of difference to the suites just to give our guests a little extra luxury they deserve. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Had the chance to have a quick getaway to Nelson and knew where I wanted to stay again. The Sails was as great as it was the first time around. Max & Robyn are wonderful hosts and just cannot do enough for you, the breakfasts are the best we have had in any Motel and the rooms are so relaxing you just do not want to leave. Well done on keeping up such high standards and making us feel so very welcome. See you all again soon we hope!

Room Tip: all rooms are greats and easy walk to city.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Char N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Hello there again Charlotte. It was our pleasure to have your company again while you did a bit of retail therapy here in Nelson. Sometimes it great just to get out of your own home town just for a night but without spending all day getting somewhere to feel like we have had a change in the routine. We are so lucky to have a wonderful motel which is so presentable and with a lot of pride we are able to keep our standards high. We have passed on to the cleaning staff that you found the standards to be of the same quality as your previous stay which they were all chuffed about. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. we are looking forward to your next get away. See you soon regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.4 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.7 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sails Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sails Nelson

Address: 7 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £88 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sails Nelson 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson's newest luxury motel is unparalleled in quality and price. Qual mark rated 5 stars. The Sails provides 3 different size suites: 4 Elegant One Bedroom Apartments, 4 Sumptuous Executive Suites, 6 Luxury Studios and 2 Luxury ground floor Access Enabled Suites, Individual Car Parks. Our suites enjoy floor to ceiling windows opening onto your own intimate balcony or courtyard, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens, 42in LCD Televisions, Mini Bar, and Guest Laundry. Complimentary 50+ Sky, Wi Fi, Blue Ray, Ipod Docking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sails Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing