We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We hit the jackpot!”
Review of The Sails Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sails Nelson
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We hit the jackpot!”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We just happened across The Sails when looking for a place to spend one night after crossing from North to South Island. What a find! This place is fabulous! The rooms are very modern, stylish, immaculate and finished to the highest standard. Our check-in was smooth and we were made very welcome by Max and Robyn. They helped us with getting a doctor's appointment that day and recommended restaurants and local micro breweries to visit. The room was so comfortable that we were sorry to have to leave after only one night. The bed, high quality wide screen TV, well stocked kitchen and bathroom could not be faulted. We will definitely stay again on our next trip through Nelson. Thanks Max and Robyn for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for the glowing review. We are extremely privileged to be the owners of this new complex and enjoy meeting so many people from all parts of the world. We are pleased that you found your suite to be of such a high standard and enjoyed all the luxury items that we have added for you. We too are sorry that you were only able to stay for one day as Nelson has so many wonderful things to do. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    62
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
60
442
26
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The sails is a lovely place to stay, in a quite corner of town. The room was spotless and the decor and amenities amazing. The bed was unforgettable, as others have said - like sleeping on a cloud. This may possibly have been the best nights sleep of my life! The staff are very welcoming and accommodating as well as knowledgable on things to do and see. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Hello Carol, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay with us at The Sails. We are so pleased that you found the suite spotless and so comfortable. Nelson has many wonderful enjoyable attractions so it's always nice to hear that we have help you find a few of them. Regards Max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

If your looking for luxury without the price tag, then this is it. The bedding was supremely superior with the feather underlay, what a treat. We travel extensively around the world in 4-5 star accommodations and this is right up there with them. Little details such as plush carpet under your feet, kitchen fully kitted out, to a scrumptious breakfast delivered to the door. Location ideal within minutes to everywhere we needed to go. Highly recommend this place, owners very helpful.

Room Tip: Its right off the main road, but it has double glazing so no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Hello Thank you for your review about your stay with here at The Sails Nelson. We are pleased that you found us to be of equal quality to other overseas Motels you have experienced. We did get a lot of our ideas while traveling around Europe before we started the motel. But we also think a lot of our success comes from our pride in our service, the motel and of cause guest satisfaction. Thank you again for taking the time during this hectic festive season to write your review. Regards Max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talladega, Alabama
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed staying here and would highly recommend to anyone. It is very modern and super comfortable. It has so many great amenities, I can't remember them all. Love the bed...like sleeping on a cloud. Love the tile shower and the bathrobes, the kitchenette, the big TV and all of the other conveniences. There is no fantastic view here, but Nelson is a great little town with good restaurants. It is spotlessly clean, too. When we told Robin we were going to Abel Tasman the next day but need to wash clothes, too, she insisted on washing them for us! She might not do this for everyone, but this made our lives so much easier and enabled us to enjoy Nelson when we returned. Thanks, too, for finding our camera in "the cloud"!! Breakfast was superb and we loved having it in our room so we could eat at our convenience and go. Max and Robin, You're the best!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fountain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Hello there we were so please to be able to contact you with driving distance for you to be able to return to the Motel to collect you camera and more importantly your holiday shots. You were both such fun and we both really enjoyed your sense of humour. We are glad that you found your suite to be enjoyable and comfortable. Thank you for your fantastic review we really were sorry to see you go. Regards Max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Absolutely the best accommodation in Nelson. Max and Robyn are excellent hosts, very friendly and helpful. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Great location too. We highly recommend The Sails!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your time with us here at The Sails Nelson. We are delighted that you found your suite to be so comfortable. We hope that you are able to make it back up this way again soon for another well deserved break.Regards Max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Our ferry from Wellington was late, so we arrived very late into this fantastic little motel in Nelson, and we had to leave fairly early the next morning. Too bad, because the room was truly impressive, with very posh furnishings and all the technology one could desire, from iPod dock to espresso machine. The staff waited for our late arrival, gave us good advice on where to find something to eat late at night, and were generally friendly and helpful. WiFi and parking were free. Definitely recommend, and wish we could have lounged around for another day or so.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14gailg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
We are so pleased to have been a spot of luxury after your hectic day with the Ferry being delayed and the drive from Picton to Nelson in the Dark. We also are sorry to of only had your company over night but I'm sure you enjoyed the rest of our wonderful country at a leisurely pace. Thank you for writing a wonderful review about the suite which you stayed in. We certainly wouldn't have let you arrive without a proper welcoming and some advise about the local restaurants. Regards Max and Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a new and very good spec accommodation within easy walking distance of the town and all it's attractions. Anyone visiting need look no further than this motel for a great nights stay. The Managing team Robyn and her Husband are very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: They are all very we'll equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review about your experience with us here at The Sails Nelson. We are extremely proud of our service and the motel it self. We have added points of difference to the suites just to give our guests a little extra luxury they deserve. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Regards Max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
4.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sails Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sails Nelson

Property: The Sails Nelson
Address: 7 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sails Nelson 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson's newest luxury motel is unparalleled in quality and price. Qual mark rated 5 stars. The Sails provides 3 different size suites: 4 Elegant One Bedroom Apartments, 4 Sumptuous Executive Suites, 6 Luxury Studios and 2 Luxury ground floor Access Enabled Suites, Individual Car Parks. Our suites enjoy floor to ceiling windows opening onto your own intimate balcony or courtyard, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens, 42in LCD Televisions, Mini Bar, and Guest Laundry. Complimentary 50+ Sky, Wi Fi, Blue Ray, Ipod Docking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sails Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing