We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique brilliance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sails Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sails Nelson
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Boutique brilliance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Feather beds, pristine decor, lovely proprietor, impeccable surroundings, and boutique brilliance at an affordable cost. A delightful surprise at the beginning of a two week adventure through the South Island with friends from the States. Amazing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pearliepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review. We are pleased you had a great stay with us and we hope you enjoyed the rest of you travels around the south Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    59
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
55
425
26
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Very nice people from the Manager/Owner to the Girls who serviced the room. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very helpful with excellent rooms and large lovely bathroom. An easy walk into the town and lots to do in the area. An upstairs room would allow you to leave the window open and not rely on the air conditioning, It would not bother some people anyway and in alot of modern Hotels you cannot open the windows at all. So all in all an excellent City centre place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TEX1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank so much for taking the time to write a great review for us. We enjoyed having you stay with us and pleased you had a experience. We are always striving to be the best we can be so our guest can have a wonderful experience in our great city of Nelson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

The Saile hotel is owner managed and the owner greeted us upon arrival. the rooms are large and we could not believe the cleanliness of the place. it was just like the day it opened.
Very helpful also in recommending restaurants and places to see.
We would recommend this as a place to stay in Nelson.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, we do take great care and pride in all our rooms and we are very pleased when our guests appreciate this.

Many Thanks and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in Feb and were very pleased with the room, it was very modern and spotlessly clean. Max and Robyn were very helpful and gave us plenty of information regarding the surrounding area and good restaurants. Wifi worked well and we could walk to town easily, plenty of parking at the motel and Max helped with our luggage.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your great review. We take pride in our Motel and want our guests to feel special. We are so glad you have a lovely stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
198 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Very modern (less than 2 years old). The upstairs room we had was very spacious with a small balcony. No road noise. Spotlessly clean. Exceptionally pleasant and helpful owners.
The bed was very comfortable, once the innumerable sheets,cushions,pillows,covers, and second mattress were removed.
Ideally situated for a walk into town which is well worth the visit. Lovely old buildings, many Art Deco, on Trafalgar Street. The Nelson City Council Building is however, the ugliest building in all New Zealand and should be knocked down asap.

Room Tip: Upstairs is probably a bit better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stationmastershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your time with us at The Sails Nelson. We are pleased that you enjoyed our wonderful city with all it has to offer. We also very much enjoy the short walk into the city from the motel. Regards Max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at Sails for 2 nights. Robyn and Max are lovely and so helpful. The motel is new, spotlessly clean and the architecture and the interior design is second to none.
Restaurants close by - we can recommend Fords. They have a nice cat too!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for writing your review about your stay with us at The Sails Nelson. It was our pleasure to have meet you during your time in the wonderful Nelson region. Regards Max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and were so pleased with our accommodations. First of all, Max and Robyn are wonderful. They were always quick to help arrange outings, answer questions and were very friendly and welcoming. They make you feel at home. The room was very clean,modern, spacious and beautifully decorated. Beds were comfortable and the expresso machine was a nice little pert. This was a great way for us to start our 3 week trip in NZ. The location of the motel is ideal. It is within a 5 minute walking distance from the Nelson town activity. Great value plus some!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinksty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Manager at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed your 3 week holiday in Ne Zealand. You did it right, by staying in Nelson for three days of them. We believe that it is the entire experience of Nelson, and its surrounding parks,is as important as your head on our pillow. With great weather, wines, art, and nature, we have it all. It is truly one of the most beautiful place in N.Z. to have nice people like yourself stay with us, makes our job pleasurable. Thanks again.
Kind Regards Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
4.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sails Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sails Nelson

Property: The Sails Nelson
Address: 7 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sails Nelson 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson's newest luxury motel is unparalleled in quality and price. Qual mark rated 5 stars. The Sails provides 3 different size suites: 4 Elegant One Bedroom Apartments, 4 Sumptuous Executive Suites, 6 Luxury Studios and 2 Luxury ground floor Access Enabled Suites, Individual Car Parks. Our suites enjoy floor to ceiling windows opening onto your own intimate balcony or courtyard, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens, 42in LCD Televisions, Mini Bar, and Guest Laundry. Complimentary 50+ Sky, Wi Fi, Blue Ray, Ipod Docking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Sails Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing