We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a motel”
Review of The Sails Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sails Nelson
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were very impressed with our accommodation as soon as we walked into our room. We had chosen the executive suite which consisted of a large lounge/dining room as well,as bed and bathrooms. The ambience of the rooms was superb and it was presented as though a major hotel, indeed better than some of the hotels we have stayed in on this trip.
The manager was helpful and cheerful however I would have liked to have heard about the walks around the town itself (river and park) as well as the walks around the Abel Tasman.

Room Tip: Actually there is no restaurant, I hit that by mistake and can't seem to change it. However Max...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, we appreciate you passing on your experience to other readers. We would have helped you out with information about the various walks and other attractions of your interest had we had known at the time. We are pleased that you enjoyed your suite and the extras that we have added to them to enhance your time with us.
Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Max and Robyn have looked over every detail at this lovely, modern motel. From the gorgeous spa bathrooms to the efficient kitchens with all the bells and whistles (including a milk frother!), the Sails is positively delightful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaycee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for the review about The Sails Nelson. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time in Nelson and found the motel to be of a high standard. Max and I enjoyed your company and look forward to you being able to make it back again one day in the future. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I'll start with the word CLASS. It really was class. Location. Just a lovely 5 minute walk in to Nelson town. You pass shops and various places and if you want to take the back route you'll pass a beautiful river, very easy. The place itself oozes class, Max and Robyn have certainly done their homework and are certainly fully fledged hoteliers and understand how to make a customer happy. My first walk in to my room was greeted by a carpet you could expect to see on a TV advert. My shoes immediately came off as soon as I realised we wasn't on tile. The TV was really cool and the bed looked sumptuous. Bathroom ultimately trendy with really good shower gels etc etc. The thing that really made me love this place was the LG music system under the TV. fantastic sound with an I pod doc. Perfect for the traveller who likes to take his/her music on the road. Max & Robyn are obviously dedicated to their business and it so shines through with the results. If you are reading this and wondering where to stay. Read no more reviews. You've just found the place to stay x Love NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete-Torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review about your stay at the Sails Nelson. We are pleased that you found your suite to be so comfortable and enjoyable. Both Max and i are extremely proud of the motel and enjoy showing guests to their suites and explaining all there is to do while thay are staying with us. We hope that you are able to make it back one day to continue the wonderful experience you had in the Nelson/Tasman area.
Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Were welcomed by Robyn & Max and shown to a lovely modern executive suite. The kitchen facilities were first class, although I didn't actually use them and included a Nespresso machine which made a nice change from instant. Beds were soft with the addition of a top matress but had we been staying more than one night I would probably have removed that.
It's a short walk into the centre of Nelson where there are plenty of shops and restaurants to be had. There is a lovely walk along the river and also the walk to the Centre of New Zealand. Recommended by Robyn it was worth it once you get up there but quite hard going.
Dinner was at a recommended Thai restaurant in town but there are so many other choices to be had.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone staying in Nelson.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocky081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review about your stay at the Sails Nelson. We are pleased that you found your suite to be so comfortable and enjoyable. We hope that you are able to make it back one day to continue the wonderful experience you had in the Nelson/Tasman area.
Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Have no hesitation in recommending this motel. Superb, modern, exceptionally well equipped accommodation, run by a really efficient couple who took pride in providing a high quality service in every way. They obligingly helped us to plan and book our walking experience in the Abel Tasman Park. Only a few minutes walk from the restaurants, shops and supermarkets in the centre of Nelson and similarly close to the seafront and parkland. As others have noted the balcony overlooked a street but we were not disturbed by traffic noise and the overall motel more than compensated. Would certainly return here if we travelled back to NZ.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NandV1F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay with us here at The Sails in Nelson. It is with pleasure that we enjoy helping guests get the very best experience while staying with us and exploring the Nelson/Tasman area. Unfortunately when your close to the city centre it is rear to get fantastic views, but the walk into the city is extremely pleasant and enjoyable. It would be fantastic if you do get the opportunity to come back to New Zealand and stay with us again. Regards Max and Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

After a ferry ride from Wellington and a bus ride from Picton, we were very happy to get to our hotel. Very friendly and accommodating. Super location, within walking distance of town and restaurants yet away from the main part of the town. Room was very lovely, bright and sunny with a balcony. The balcony overlooks a street which isn't ideal, but we were only there one night. When I sat on the bed, it literally reached up and pulled me in. So unbelievably comfortable. Loved it. I would absolutely stay here again and have already recommended it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101PrincessP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonder review about us here at The Sails Nelson. It is quit a trip off the ferry onto a bus and over to Nelson. We are pleased that you found the suite so comfortable and clean on your arrival. The goose down feather overlays on our beds just snuggle around you and add a lot of warmth. We also love the stroll into the city and we do it nearly every day because it is so interesting. We look forward to you being able to make it back one day. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Simply a great place to stay; modern and lovely rooms as well as good situated.
Nelson itself is a charming small town. The hosts provided us with all necessary information about the town, restaurants and activities.
We've only stayed for one night but would recommend to stay longer; especially if you'd plan to visit the Abel Tasman Nationalpark.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello there, you are right, one day is not enough time to see the National Park and all that the Nelson/Tasman area has to offer. We appreciate you writing and letting other readers know about The Sails Nelson. It is with pride that we present each and every suite to guests knowing that we are providing them with the very best. Now that you have seen a little of our wonderful country, you will be able to make back again in the future. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.4 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
390 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sails Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sails Nelson

Address: 7 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £93 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sails Nelson 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson's newest luxury motel is unparalleled in quality and price. Qual mark rated 5 stars. The Sails provides 3 different size suites: 4 Elegant One Bedroom Apartments, 4 Sumptuous Executive Suites, 6 Luxury Studios and 2 Luxury ground floor Access Enabled Suites, Individual Car Parks. Our suites enjoy floor to ceiling windows opening onto your own intimate balcony or courtyard, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens, 42in LCD Televisions, Mini Bar, and Guest Laundry. Complimentary 50+ Sky, Wi Fi, Blue Ray, Ipod Docking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sails Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing