We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sails Nelson
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is one of the nicest if not the best Boutique Motels we have every stayed in. The rooms were just amazing. The amenities they have here are top notch and of the best quality. 42 Inch flat screen TV's, Well equipped kitchens and the best coffee nespresso machine. The bathrooms are very nice and have full size jacuzzi tubs. The location is an easy 5 minute walk to the downtown area. The staff is very knowledgeable of the entire area and have great recommendations for food, wine tours, and all excursions. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hello MIchael, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay with us here at The Sails Nelson. The spa baths are a real treat when your on holiday just to have the time to really relax which we all find hard to do in our every day life. we found the nespresso machines were a big thing on our own travels before we opened the motel so decide to add them as a feature in our larger suites. It is a great reward to know that we have provided you with a relaxing and memorable stay. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just returned from a weekend in Nelson staying at the Sails Motel.

We received a wonderful welcome and were given a lovely run down of things to do and see, where to eat and even where not to eat. All of the recommendations were beautifully marked on the map and we were shown to our room.

The room was lovely, very neutral décor with a lovely comfortable bed. Everything that anyone would need seems to be available. The room was spotlessly clean. There were plenty of towels, all of the usual toiletries, a mini bar if you are that way inclined as well as tea and coffee (nespresso machine and real tea!!). The milk was in a lovely little bottle which I thought was quite quaint (good idea too as it can be refilled). The bed was comfortable and there were the full complement of sky channels. All of the furniture was tasteful and comfortable

My only complaint (well, there has to be something) we that it was slightly further from the centre of the city than I had imagined.

I would not hesitate to stay here again. We loved it!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hello Mandy, Thank you very much for the kind review you posted about your stay with us in Nelson at The Sails. You were such lovely guests and we enjoyed your company and enthusiasm for the Nelson/Tasman area. We are pleased that you liked all of the luxury items in your suite and that helped to make us a memorable part of your holiday. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just enjoyed 3 nights at Sails , comfortable , clean and well set up , with knowledgeable and very helpful friendly hosts . Great attention to detail in the 1 bedroom units with excellent high quality hotel linen and bedding, a Nespresso machine, locally produced gourmet teas and mini bar and beautiful NZ bathroom products all replenished with complimentary daily room service. Centrally located with off street parking .

Room Tip: I would definitely stay at Sails again on my next trip to Nelson
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you Michelle for taking the time to write such a fantastic review about your stay in one of our One Bedroom apartments. We are pleased that you found it to be of a high quality and that you were able to enjoy the many luxury items we provided for you. We look forward to your return to The Sails in Nelson when you are able to be back in the South Island. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I write this review from the comfort of the beautiful bed sipping on a cup of leaf tea. I couldn't wait to post my review.
This room is exactly how a hotel should be.
It's new. It's fresh. It's clean. It's classy.
Reasonably priced for the quality. Well appointed kitchenette. Beautiful shower products.
Free wifi.
Very friendly staff.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cindie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review about your stay with us in Nelson at The Sails. We are very pleased that you found the suite to be of such a high standard that we had to write your review from inside it. We have aimed to provide a touch of luxury to our guests experience by offering them the things that we enjoy, just little things like the loose left teas in a silver tea pot with a nice tea cup and saucer. We are delighted that you enjoyed them as much as we do. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We spent two nights in a studio unit (2 Adults & an infant). As they knew we had a infant they had put us in on the bigger studios. They also offered highchair free of charge (not sure about cot as we had our own). The room was stunning & had lots of little extras (different teas, decaf coffee) that you don't get from most place. Would highly recommend!

Staff were very helpful & friendly

Room Tip: Book through their website - is cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meeky_2620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hello Thank you for writing a great review about your stay with us here at The Sails in Nelson. We are pleased that we were able to give you one of our bigger suites with extra room for your baby. We never charge for the extra items required for a baby like a cot, highchair or the use of the push chair. It's hard to travel when you have to bring all other extra bits. we are pleased that they helped make your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to having you all with us again in the future. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My daughter and I were visiting Takaka/Nelson for a couple of days and found this to be one of the best Motels we have ever stayed at. Most motels are basic, but they thought of everything. Good lighting(I am not sure why, but most places we stay have such dim lighting) , comfortable bed, coffee machine .. great spa bath .. (my daughter enjoyed it) and one thing I always thought that motels lacked, was a simple hand towel in the kitchen area, well they even thought of that. They did not spare the expense on the carpeting as, because I have been looking at carpeting out house, it was one of the best quality carpets they were using, everything was of top quality, including bathroom products. Staff were extra extra friendly and so easy to talk to, never did we NOT get 100% service, and they make the best poached eggs. My daughter and I thank you for a lovely home away from home.

Room Tip: Pay that tiny bit more for the spa rooms, as the spa bath is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molswashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay with us here at The Sails. We are pleased that we helped you find the perfect carpet for your home. We just love that carpet ourselves it so soft. The spa is a added touch of luxury when your on holiday a real sense of relaxation. We look forward to you being able to return to the Nelson/Tasman area and enjoy more of what we have to offer. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We had two nights here and loved it. The room was large, luxuriously fitted out (specifically the huge spa, the gorgeous carpet for bare feet and the bed) and very clean. We had everything we needed on hand, and many other services nearby - eg laundry which was very cheap and easy to use. The staff were all very friendly and gave great advice on nearby restaurants and attractions. The location was ideal. Would have loved to have stayed longer and hope to come back - one of our favourite places to stay in NZ.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Al and Fin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review about your couple of days with us here in Nelson at The Sails.
I also just love the carpet in the suites that you stayed in. We are pleased that you enjoyed the spa it is a real treat to know that you can spend as long as you like relaxing because your on Holiday. Something in normal life we fine hard to do. We are pleased that we were a highlight of your New Zealand trip. Regards max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.4 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 41 in Nelson
508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
392 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sails Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sails Nelson

Address: 7 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £91 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sails Nelson 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson's newest luxury motel is unparalleled in quality and price. Qual mark rated 5 stars. The Sails provides 3 different size suites: 4 Elegant One Bedroom Apartments, 4 Sumptuous Executive Suites, 6 Luxury Studios and 2 Luxury ground floor Access Enabled Suites, Individual Car Parks. Our suites enjoy floor to ceiling windows opening onto your own intimate balcony or courtyard, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens, 42in LCD Televisions, Mini Bar, and Guest Laundry. Complimentary 50+ Sky, Wi Fi, Blue Ray, Ipod Docking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sails Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing