We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly comfortable and close to everything ”
Review of The Sails Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sails Nelson
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This is a new and very well put together motel. A very friendly welcome from Max made the end of a long day enjoyable. Really comfortable rooms with possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever had in a motel. Close to the central city with only a short walk to good restaurants. Definitely a good base for a few nights in Nelson.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review about your stay with us at The Sails in Nelson. We are delighted that you thought our beds are the most comfortable beds you have ever slept in. The feather overlay add a real touch of luxury to our beds. We do enjoy telling guests about our wonderful city and all there is to do while visiting the area. We hope you are back in the Nelson area again soon. Regards Robyn and Max.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Max and Robyn have the distinction of running what must be the 5 star of motels in NZ. The place just oozes quality and it's nothing but a brief stroll up the street to all the highlights of Nelson's CBD. The beds must be the centerpiece of this motel and luxurious doesn't even begin to describe the heavenly comfort of the high quality bed linen. The room boasts a great plasma TV, a high performance micro hi-fi system, and even a Blu-ray player, but some of the other touches also leave high-priced hotels in the shade - a safe and a full-size umbrella (and boy did it rain during this stay). This is perfection that sets a new standard in motels. I'd live here if I didn't have a home elsewhere!

Room Tip: Every room is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaymondH646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Hello Raymond, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay with us here at The Sails in Nelson. We get so many wonderful comments about our beds and how guests have trouble getting out of them. big tv's and ipod stereos are just he normal for most people at home now, so its important to get the same items when your away travelling. We also enjoy the short walk into the city and we do it most days. We are lucky we have wonderful staff who take as much pride in the motel as we do, they understand our standards and that is why we are so busy. We look forward to you making the trip back to Nelson from Taupo again soon to enjoy your company again. Regards Robyn and Max.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

REALLY nice place to stay. We only stayed one night, down from Wellington just for the weekend. Bed was OVER-THE-TOP luxurious (In a good way - makes my bed at home feel like a piece of crap). Room has all the "stuff" you need (stereo, TV, appliances etc). Location is great, just a short stroll into the CBD to great restaurants and bars. The owner, Max, was very friendly - showed us a map with some great recommendations for food and craft beers etc. The place seems very new, but regardless of age - was the cleanest place I've ever stayed before. I would recommend this place to anybody and when I next return to Nelson, I'll definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: The extractor fan in the bathroom must be on a sensor. Turns on when you turn the lights on, but do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jared_mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Hello Jared Wow what a fantastic review about your stay with us here at The Sails in Nelson. We are very proud of the motel and work hard at keeping our 5 stars. People have such high speck items in their homes now, so its what guests expect to have while away. I'm sure your bed at home isn't that bed, but we are glad that you enjoy the feather overlay on the bed in your suite. We look forward to you both popping back across for another weekend away. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for several nights and absolutely lovers it. It's small and family run so you get that special touch with recommendations, little extras etc... We travelled with a 10 month old and staff were very helpful with cot and baby seat. Rooms are amazing. Great sleep. The most amusing part is the showers in the room - pretty funky (and cool) with a single tap controlling pressure and hot/cold. Lots of lovely touches, close walk to main shops. Highly recommend - a highlight. Thanks for having us guys!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank SherifMansour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Hello Sherif, Thank you for writing such a great review about your families time with us at The Sails in Nelson. It was our pleasure to help with recommendations for things to do while in the Nelson/Tasman area. It can be tricky travelling with little ones so we always like stare guests where they want to go. We do have fantastic shower heads in the suite that you stayed in. We look forward to your family being able to make it back to Nelson again soon. Regards Robyn and Max.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great attention to detail, Robyn informative on local restaurants, room facilities etc. Wonderful comfy beds and pillows. Excellent quality linens and toiletries. A definite 5 star accommodation. I had just a standard queen room which though smallish was really warm and comfy. Stayed in June and only needed the heater on for a short period to warm it up initially. Good location with being a pleasant walk in to the township. This motel does both continental and cooked breakfast and beautifully presented. No lift so some guests may prefer a ground floor unit, though Robyn and Max very obliging at assisting with bags. This was my first stay, it certainly won't be my last.

Room Tip: Excellent Web site shows all room types.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Hello Jane I was lovely to meet you and enjoy your company while staying us us here at The Sails Nelson. we often help guests carry bags and luggage to their suites. If we are showing you to your room we might as well make the trip worthwhile. The suites are varied in shapes so some do feel a bit smaller than others, We are pleased that you felt cosy and warm during your stay. We look forward to having you with us again next time your in the Nelson region. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My partner & I spent a weekend here and were both very impressed with this motel and will certainly stay here whenever we're in Nelson from now on.
It certainly ticks all the boxes to meet 5 star standards. The room was very well appointed, nicely decorated and warm. The kitchenette had everything you could really need. There was a good selection of teas & coffees etc. There was a Nespresso machine with complimentary selection of coffee capsules (or whatever you call them). The bed was wonderfully comfortable.
The motel was located a short walk from the CBD.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Hello Grant, we are delighted that you found your suite to be equal to other 5 star motels you have stayed at. We have tried extremely hard, to make sure we haven't missed anything a guest may require. We also enjoy the 7 minute stroll into the city from the motel we are always stopping off at the river to see whats happening. We look forward to having you both with us on your return to Nelson in the future. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great location, easy stroll to the city centre and very easy to find. Fantastic hosts, met on arrival by Robyn who showed us to our one bedroomed suite and gave us an overview of restaurants and ideas for sightseeing. Attention to detail was very good, the suite was beautiful, and the breakfasts were very good as is the coffee machine! I would recommend this accommodation to any travellers to Nelson.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frangipani201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

It was my pleasure to greet you and point out some of our favourite spots in and around the Nelson city. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your suite and the motel it self. Regards Robyn and Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.4 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.7 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 42 in Nelson
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sails Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sails Nelson

Address: 7 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £90 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sails Nelson 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson's newest luxury motel is unparalleled in quality and price. Qual mark rated 5 stars. The Sails provides 3 different size suites: 4 Elegant One Bedroom Apartments, 4 Sumptuous Executive Suites, 6 Luxury Studios and 2 Luxury ground floor Access Enabled Suites, Individual Car Parks. Our suites enjoy floor to ceiling windows opening onto your own intimate balcony or courtyard, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens, 42in LCD Televisions, Mini Bar, and Guest Laundry. Complimentary 50+ Sky, Wi Fi, Blue Ray, Ipod Docking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sails Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing