We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (793)
Filter reviews
793 results
Traveller rating
705
79
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
705
79
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nespresso machine mattress topper mini bar comfortable bed new zealand trafalgar park short walk beautiful room sky tv town centre great shower small balcony the kitchen the ground floor heat pump abel tasman a great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 793 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We stayed here for three nights while we enjoyed relaxing around Nelson and its surrounds. All the superlatives about this motel are true and easy to see why it is #1 on TA. It must be the best appointed motel I have ever stayed in. It is beautifully clean, light and roomy. As Nelson has so many wonderful restaurants and cafes only a short walk away, we didn't use the kitchen but for a family it could be very handy.

Mark is very pleasant and helpful and it was nice to be able to park in the motel carpark after arriving off a flight too early to get into our room. We were able to wander off into town and through the botanical gardens.

The location is great and our only disappointment was our room was ground floor on the noisy corner of Trafalgar and Wainui Rd. On the Saturday night there was a fair amount of boy racer activity which kept us awake. However I doubt there is any accommodation in Nelson which is free from this, as we have experienced this every time we travel to Nelson. Hopefully it may become muted once the shrubs grow in front of the unit.

Room tip: Get an upstairs unit
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Toddy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear Toddy04,
Thank you for such a great review and we are very glad you have enjoyed your stay here. We always strive to maintain a top notch environment for all our guest and also love chatting about what to do in our beautiful city, Nelson. All our windows and doors are double glazed to provide extra privacy so that you will get the best of both worlds - being close to town and still feel safe.
We do hope to be able to see you both in the future.
Kind Regards,
Mark and Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Modern luxury! The most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, Seriously! I want the bed topper... So very comfortable.
We stayed in a one bed apartment. Very spacious and totally gorgeous. A full kitchen, gorgeous bathroom. Can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank karren61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you for writing a great review, the feather bed toppers are amazingly comfortable with every room fitted out with this touch of luxury comfit. Hope to see you again. Regards Mark & Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

The room and service here was as good as we've had at any 5 star resort in a major city. Our room was big, and superbly maintained with lovely furnishings and great beds, a fantastic little kitchen if you wish to self cater, and a great bathroom. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners - helping with our washing and with top class tour and restaurant advice, they were a delight to meet. The property itself is just on the edge of the town, with no view or location to speak of, but it's a very easy flat and safe 10 minute walk into town, or a very short drive. Wifi was fast, free and unlimited. This is a 5 star place at an affordable price.

Room tip: If possible, ask to avoid the corner room. There is some traffic noise here, but not enough to in anyway spoil your stay.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LucyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you for a writing a great review, yes an easy flat safe 10 minute walk to the center of the city for shopping or dinning as we are on the main street in Nelson. glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards Mark & Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

The Sails Nelson is totally updated, immaculately clean, and within walking distance to the centre. Mark and Cecilia were very helpful and friendly. Don't stay anywhere else if you are in the Nelson area! This hotel is perfect!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ACB218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you for a great review, glad you enjoyed your stay in Nelson and maybe visit again. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Great owner (Mark) as upon arrival asked if we had plans ( which we didn't) and proceeded to suggest places to eat in the town centre, a 10 minute walk and where to go the next day for a fish lunch (Mapua) and to visit the WOW museum. All excellent recommendations. He also suggested a boat ride and walk back to a certain point but we didn't have enough time to do it justice and so didn't.
The Sails is a special and fabulous place to stay. Very clean and well maintained with a spacious self contained studio and balcony. Very comfortable bed and bathroom with large walk in shower. Kitchen was equipped with hob, microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge and dishwasher. Lovely selection of teas and coffee as well as wines and nibbles. On our second morning we ordered breakfast, toast and jam and on time the bread arrived for us to make fresh toast and the jam and honey was good as was the orange juice and banana. Could have eaten it on the balcony which had a table and two chairs but there were two chairs and a table in the room as well.
This is the place to stay if you are visiting Nelson. A gem.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear Moosie57,
Thank you for your wonderful review. Yes, we are alway excited when recommending things to do in Nelson and there is always plenty to do. We do hope to be able to host you again in the future and maybe you will be able to do the boat ride that you missed!
Kind Regards,
Mark and Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews