We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Gardens of the World
Ranked #21 of 82 things to do in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Took my partner on a trip to gardens of the world and had an amazing picnic in the rose garden. Setting was perfect!!! always will come here

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hide away”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I unexpectedly discovered these gardens on a Sunday afternoon drive a couple of years ago, I've since found myself returning time after time in summer for picnics in a secluded hideaway with beautiful gardens and tranquil water features. I love how its out of town and therefore isn't packed with other visitors.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unexpected find”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just happened to find this place on our way to stay at Milcrest Estate vineyard. We decided to visit later on the next day. The gardens are unexpected and are generally well kept although some areas are past their best. Will return in late spring and early summer to see the herbaceous borders in their glory. Money goes in honesty box so hope people cough up to maintain these beautiful gardens. There was a wedding in the grounds - a stunning location for such an event -lots of photo opportunities with lovely rose arbours and cute bridges over water features.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to visit, very well set out, so peaceful”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Beautifully planned and interesting plants.
Wonderful to stroll around at leisure.
Exotic to the normal vegetable varieties.
The pathway in, is shadded by wonderful trees
Beautifully maintained.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank gjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens but a bit hard to find”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The private gardens are outside Hope so quite a way out of Nelson but we eventually found them. The gardens were beautiful but it was a very windy day so we didn't stay very long.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gardens of the World also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Gardens of the World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing