We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Kraut's Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Kraut's Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: German, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Dear customers and friends of hearty German cuisine! After six succesful and exciting years of operating Kraut's in Nelson it is now time for a lifestyle change. We would love to thank all our customers and suppliers for their continued patronage and support. The Kraut's family: Raz, Jasmin, Doris and Vianne
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I'm writing this as we sit here and wait for our desert, we decided to come here as we wanted something different to the normal fair in Nelson, after reading all the great reviews on here decided we would give Krauts a try and boy were glad we did, we came here for my granddads 80th birthday so a group of 8, first off the atmosphere is lovely nice back ground music nice decor, the staff are wonderful and helpful I think they are the owners lovely people, and wow the food is to die for all empty plates no moans nothing and my family moan at the first sign of trouble so totally amazing, just finished desert now and fantastic will be back for sure! Everyone is happy which is a miracle.

Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raz-Krauts, Owner at Kraut's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Hi Tim B, thank you for your excellent review. It was a great pleasure to host the birthday party of your lovely and humorous granddad and we are very proud that you all were happy and satisfied. We enjoyed having such a relaxed and cheerful group and we trust to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We visited Krauts for my husbands birthday with a group of 4 people. We had heard that it had a great reputation. The waitress was lovely and very obliging. We started with a cheese and onion spread and bread which was delicious followed by a main of a platter for two which had a HUGE pork shank with the most amazing crackling all over it, several pieces of schnitzel (both chicken and pork), several sausages, chips and salads. There was more than enough for both of us and a great deal for $52. The food was all lovely although the pork was a little bit dry but obviously very popular as they ran out after our order. What we couldn't eat was packed up in a delightful way (you will have to see for yourself). We will definately return, great value and lovely atmosphere!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank FoxyLoxy025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raz-Krauts, Owner at Kraut's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Hi FoxyLoxy025, thank you very much for your very good review. We are delighted to hear that we do have a great reputation in Nelson! It was a pleasure to have you in that evening and we are looking forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I visited Kraut's with some Nelson locals, the locals who are less expossed to German food than myself, they absolutely loved Kraut's.

I had the meat platter which was excellent. However I would have enjoyed it even more if it had had more sausage variaties rather than the large pork shank.

For desert I had the apple strudel. This was good but It needs a bit more umph.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robertm100_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raz-Krauts, Owner at Kraut's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Robertm100_12, thank you for your very good review. It's great to hear that you and your party have thoroughly enjoyed your evening. Please let us know next time that you'll like to have some more saussages on your platter, we are very happy to change that for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great establishment ran by wonderful people serving true German cuisine. Great range of meals!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raz-Krauts, Owner at Kraut's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Hi Glen A, thank you very much for your excellent review! Yes, we love what we are doing, serving good and honest food in a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere and we believe our customers get that vibe and tune in to it. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

On the strength of all the great reviews we had an evening meal here. We were not disappointed. Food was excellent, staff lovely and very reasonably priced. It is a definite next time we are in Nelson. The pork shank is a must although the mushroom sauce on the Jaeger Shnitzel could have been better (hence the 4 stars), the Shnitzel itself was excellent however.

Thank TrentEndNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raz-Krauts, Owner at Kraut's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you Tim S for your very good review. We are happy that you rated our food excellent and we are looking forward to hosting you again. Maybe you can let us know how you like your mushroom sauce so we could produce one for your next visit?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kraut's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing